We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's some "stuff", but overall comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Save Saved
You added Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Mpls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There's some "stuff", but overall comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on sept 15 and 16. I enjoyed our stay and Terry at the front desk was a nice addition. Friendly guy who was welcoming and hospitable. I didn't read the review until after we came home and honestly was glad I hadn't. I may not have stayed there. The review are particularly nit picky for this budget priced hotel and a lot of the negativity just isn't accurate.
We originally booked at the Econo Lodge, but once there was so put off by the location (across the street from a poorly maintained trailer park) and the lack of scenery we just couldn't stay!
The White House has a great location, gave us a great deal on 4 adults in a room with 2 bedroom areas and has a nice big bathroom.
Negative things from other reviews that were semi true:

No shampoo - they DO have shampoo to offer, but not sure why they don't stock the rooms with it. Kinda weird that you have to ask for it.

Uncomfortable rooms - the beds were soft and comfortable. Could have used 2more pillows per bed. I bet if we asked they would have brought more.

The rooms were also very quiet and we were next to the elevator. We were a bit worried about the noise, but were never disturbed by it.

Parking - true, the spots are smaller and they could use more parking. But the area is tight with a lot of people in a little town. Although small, this was not a problem for anyone we spoke with.

Towels - yes, it's time to replace them. They are a bit rough and tired. No problem though. Water pressure was great and had no problems with draining.

Bugs - absolutely not. We are ridiculously thorough when checking out hotel rooms and there is no indications of bugs of any type!

The only negative was the hot tub. WAY over chlorinated, it burned your eyes after just a bit. It was foamy with green and brown layers on the foam. That's my only complaint. Seriously, that tub needs to be drained, scrubbed and maintained!

The overall stay was very nice, and I'd stay again here next time we're in Keystone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    54
    19
    26
See reviews for
81
82
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had no reservation for this leg of our fifteen day driving trip and were pleasantly surprised to find a generally comfortable room at a reasonable price. There was a microwave and kitchen area, which we used, but the bed was uncomfortable. The parking lot may have been striped to accommodate Mini's or motorcycles because it took two parking spaces to park our truck and we noticed other visitors had the same problem. All-in-all, a generally pleasant stay and the hotel staff was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Parking is good right outside. Decor is a little dated but overall very clean. There are no coffee making facilities in the rooms you have to walk down to reception and fill a jug and get cream and suger which is a bit of a pain early in the morning and your room is at the opposite end to reception. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel so you are not restricted to the hotel buffet which is not cheap and always seemed busy . Location is great for mount Rushmore and Custer state park

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very pleased with the room they gave us, Very clean and comfortable,The front desk clerk was AWESOME, Thank you Terry, We will be back, Friends are coming too. Will be back in early October to spend 3 days. Cant wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a nice room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. There is no shampoo so make sure to bring your own. Overall it was a nice stay at a good price. The front desk associate was very helpful. While they don't have in-room coffee, they do have a caraffe that you can take to the front desk and obtain free coffee. Different but fin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adfsdf
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Their website boasted "pillowtop mattresses" and we got in our room the cheapest mattress you can buy on the planet, no pillowtop, just a thin mattress cover on a noisy spring mattress. The motel 6 we stayed at the night before had the exact same cheap beds and flat cheap pillows. Horrible nights sleep. The carpeting in our room was also filthy. They felt and looked like they had not been shampooed all year, yet they take care great care of the lobby. The pool was a nice size, but around it, it is dangerous! Instead of the standard brushed concrete, they used a very slippery tile unsuitable for a pool. The hot tub was also filthy and only as deep as a kiddy pool. Staff was great. Stupid lost card policy--they want to charge $10 for lost room cards. $99 is too much to charge for these beds.

Room Tip: Demand to see the "pillowtop mattresses" they advertise before getting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The appearence of the Hotel was nice. The room was big and wonderful... 2 queen beds and a king bed. The price was just perfect for the area. The pool was supposed to be heated and it was so cold that the kids could not hardly swim. The hot tub is small and it was dirty. We did enjoy our stay the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a big room. The room is a King with 2 Queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Address: 115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s White House Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores White Hotel
Mt Rushmores White Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.