We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and place to lay your head!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Keystone

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Keystone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Keystone
522 S Hwy 16A, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Pelham, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location and place to lay your head!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Travelodge August 27-September 1. We arrived after normal check in hours which made me nervous, but we called the number on the door and someone quickly came and checked us in. The Travelodge was budget friendly, had a great location - you can walk to everything in downtown Keystone, and was comfortable. I only wish the continental breakfast was served earlier, but we're early birds. PLUS...you can see Mount Rushmore from the breezeways!! As far as I could tell, all of the motels in the area seemed to have the same amenities to offer, but Travelodge was the more affordable choice with the view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
52
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and were totally satisfied with this hotel. The continental breakfast was nice - a good variety offered. The only thing I would have liked more of was fresh fruit. They had bananas and apples.
The room was clean and updated. Location was close to Mount Rushmore and surrounding sites.Keystone is a nice little town and I would return.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and had no problems with parking lot/street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was an older facility, but still nice enough for what we were looking for. You can see Mt. Rushmore from the window or doorway of the rooms. All the rooms face the same way, so all rooms would have this same feature. The beds were fine, the water pressure for the shower was very low. The breakfast food was OK, but the area to eat in was much too small. Only a few small tables for lots of people. The building has 3 stories, with an older elevator in the middle or stairway on the end. It is a very short driving distance to Mt. Rushmore. The pool was not functioning when we were there; in fact, it had no water in it at all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

It was a place to sleep. It didn't smell all that great. The air conditioner was in an odd place. The lights outside the doors invited bugs. I got the room cheaper on a site as opposed to what the clerk quoted me over the phone. The water pressure is bloody horrible. On a plus side...great view of rushmore. Decent bed. I actually enjoyed having to go downstairs, and outside to fill our ice bucket. Might stay here again if in a budget crisis.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights there. Advertised wi-fi, continental breakfast, swimming pool. When we checked in, was told the hot tub was not working. No ice in the ice machine. Wi-Fi signal was too week for any connection. Breakfast was a joke. Terrible coffee, stale bagels. If you stay here, bring soap for your shower. Hotel is too cheap to supply enough soap. Bed was comfortable. Slept ok. But that was about it. Can see mount rushmore from parking lot. Nice cafe across the parking lot, Peggy's. Go there for your breakfast. Probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good central location with a convenient continental breakfast. If you're looking for a heartier, hot breakfast, the food and service at Peggy's next door is awesome. Very reasonable rates with well maintained, comfortable clean room. We were there for a two night stay and there was minimal interaction with the front desk. However they were friendly and most accommodating regarding tourist related questions. This hotel is a quick 5 - 10 minute walk to the small downtown area for eateries and shops. You can see Mt. Rushmore in the distance from the property. We would recommend this hotel to other travelers, and stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Very nice hotel. We arrived late and the front desk clerk was the best!! Informed my teenage boys that SD and WY are the most boring car rides, but nice views. Once we got there, we checked in and inspected our room. Very nice. One thing I did not like was the way you could hear and feel everyone walking on the balcony, a little scary. We were on the second floor. Took the elevator only once or twice while there. The security guard was very nice and helpful, and the area attractions were fun. we did do the alpine slide in the morning which the views from the top were amazing! We did not have the breakfast in the morning as it only offered Cereal and was a very small area, We chose to eat next door at the little resturant which had FANTASTIC food, large portions and well priced. The kids didn't swim until the next morning because we had arrived about an hour before the pool closed, and they didn't complain, they liked it as they had it all to themselves. We will stay here again as we had no problems and it is centrally located and had a view of Mt. Rushmore. I read that one reviewer had to "Lean to see the monument" when we were there, we walked down to the end of our floor and were able to see it perfectly, even able to see if from the ground and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Keystone

Address: 522 S Hwy 16A, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Keystone Hotel Keystone
Travel Lodge Keystone
Keystone Travel Lodge
Keystone Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Keystone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.