We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Happy Birthday, America!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Keystone
texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hubby and I were here due to flooding in Colorado, spent one night in upstairs room, with 4 pieces of luggage tuff to haul upstairs, but one of the ladies did help us up stairs. Nice Clean room, very small, Nice firepit but could not sit around it due to other guest smoking there. ONly problem i can said about this lodge is they need to replace the towels, the next morning when taking a shower they were thread bare. The morning breakfast was good, sausage buscuit with fruit and yogart. Front desk acutally made a can of chicken soup for the hubby which we really appreciated.

Room Tip: Try to get a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyInKeystone, Managing Partner at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Dkwill ~

We wanted to thank you for your business and your review of our property. We appreciate it, more than you know. It sounds as though you had a few "detours"~ and unexpected twists during your vacation. We hope it turned out to be enjoyable even if it wasn't quite as you had planned.

Just to touch on a couple of things from your review -- I don't know what our availability was when you booked the room -- but we do have ground rooms available. In addition, we can always assist guests with luggage. With 9 rooms total (and only a few on the top floor) - and a grand total of 16 steps, it simply isn't realistic for us to add an elevator. Again, I am not sure if our ground floor rooms were full when you were staying with us, or if we just didn't know that was what you were looking for. Either way, I regret that we were not able to assist you more.

You said that you were not able to use the fire pit because there were guests smoking around it. I wanted to let you know that all of our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow guests to smoke outside. We do have more than one sitting area for this reason. There are several different sitting area's around the property, so guests can sit together in different area's and enjoy the beautiful Black Hills and the great company -- with or without other guests. We regret that you were unable to enjoy the Fire Pit when you were here, but wish you would have checked out one of the other area's that we have available.

Lastly - the towels -- You are the second person who has brought this up in the last couple of weeks. Our goal is to keep up on our linens and get rid of towels, bedding, and any items that are worn as they are washed and folded. If they are "worn out", they go into the rag and "Sturgis bike cleaning" basket. We purchase new towels each season are generally diligent in our efforts to keep them in good shape.
After reading your review, and looking back at another review that mentioned the same thing, I decided we needed to do an inventory -- piece by piece. I must say, I was very disappointed to find that there were a LOT of towels that were very worn and needed to be in the "rag bin" several washes ago.
We dropped the ball on this one a couple of times. First, we should have gotten a better grade of towel for what we paid for them. Second, our cleaners and laundry (us) should have been paying more attention when we were folding and getting rid of the ones that were wearing out.

Bottom line -- This one is totally our fault and there is no excuse. We have done our inventory, gotten rid of ALL of the towels that even look like they MIGHT get a little thin and we will be opening with new, thicker, better towels in the spring.

We REALLY appreciate you bringing this to our attention ~ and giving us the opportunity to make things right for future guests. I truly believe that one of the best "compliments" someone can give you is constructive feedback, advice, or input about your business and the experience they had with it. Being fairly young and still pretty new to this industry, we still have a lot to learn. The best way we can do that is by listening to our guests and hearing what they liked, didn't like, need, want, etc - etc-. So, when we have guests that care enough about our business to take time to share their thoughts, idea's, criticisms, and more -- it means they care enough to want to see us do better and be more successful. What better compliment can someone give than that?
With that said -- Thank you AGAIN for your input, your time, and your review. We hope that you will visit us again if you pass our way. We will try to make sure you get a ground level room and that your towels are EXTRA fluffy! Until then -- we wish you Safe Travels!
Tammy and Cine ~
Battle Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
44
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely place to stay on our bike trip! Clean ,comfortable, homey. We are planning another trip next summer can't wait to take advantage of the hospitality only Battle Creek Lodge has to offer.

Mary McCluskey

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Whether it's the location - just off the main drag in Keystone - or the owners and staff, this is one of my family's favorite places to stay. Within a short drive of all the places to see in the Black Hills this is the perfect place for a long weekend or a summer vacation for the family. It is as good as, or better than, every place I have ever stayed. I would recommend it to anyone, and I do to everyone. We'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

ONLY advantage was close location for Mt. Rushmore. Room was run-down, very low bed, window blinds and towels very poor. Disappointed given what we read on Trip Advisor.
Breakfast was nothing special at all for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyInKeystone, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello trrose66 ~

Thank you for taking time to post a review on our lodge. Obviously, we are very disappointed to learn of your experience with us and regret that we were not made aware of it until now. I have sent you a private message so I can better understand when you were here and what room you were in so I can better address the issues you speak of.

As I have shared in earlier reviews and with many of our guests as they have stayed with us, our guests are our number on priority. We have never claimed and never will claim to be anything we are not. We are a simple, family ran, local operation. We run our business like we run our lives -- we are honest, work hard, and do the best we can with what we have. We don't sell what we can't back up and we take things at face value. This way of doing business has worked for us, and like my mentor and business adviser has always told me -- if it isn't broken, why fix it?

That said, if something is broke - or isn't working, you can bet that we want to fix it right away! We count on our guests to let us know if they are not happy or unsatisfied so we can make things right. It remains one of my BIGGEST frustrations when guests have a problem, something is broken in their rooms, or we simply are not the experience they are looking for -- and they don't say a word to us while they are here -- but they say lots of words about it when they leave. We understand we can't be everything to everyone - -and that we are going to have issues that need fixed or things that we can make better. We are still pretty new to this business and we have a lot to learn -- but we know one thing for sure, we can't fix it if we don't know about it.

I am not sure we could have changed anything about your stay. Our prices are among the lowest in the area - and include all of the amenities at no additional cost. We don't claim to be the Ritz, Our rooms are our rooms and something we are very proud of.

We purchase new bedding and new towels every season and we try our best to get rid of anything that is sub standard through the laundry process. If you had any linens that were not up to your standards, we would have gladly replaced them. We do as much upgrading as time and money will allow. This includes new carpet a year ago, painted rooms, new chairs for the rooms, flat screens in the rooms, new refrigerators, etc. We would like to replace the light fixtures and do a little updating to make the rooms have a little more space, but we are getting there.
**We did have it brought to our attention by a guest last week that the pull down blinds in 2 of our rooms had been broken. We are in the process of getting them replaced.**

You also speak about the breakfast not being anything special. This brings up a very valid point that I would like to make about expectations. We advertise an "Upgraded Continental" breakfast. We advertise and tell guests that means a basic continental breakfast with hot and cold items and then a "Featured item of the day" -- something like biscuits and gravy or French Toast. THAT is what WE are selling.

The breakfast has taken on a bit of a life of its own though reviews and our great community. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE that our guests love the breakfast ~ and we will continue to make sure that our breakfasts are fantastic -- BUT -- Please take other people's experiences and make that your expectation. Your expectations should be based on what we, as the business are telling you - not on what other people are saying.
TripAdvisor and other review sites are fantastic tools for travelers and for businesses. They give people an idea of what the property is like and a better well-rounded picture. They are great for business owners because they are a tool in seeing what you are doing well - what you can improve on - and other idea's that will help build your business. What is important to remember is that these sites are TOOLS -- not the end all be all and they shouldn't be what you base your "expectations" on. What is a great breakfast to you, might be a terrible breakfast to me. What is a great bed to you -- might be the worst bed I have ever slept in. It is all relative.

The bottom line is that we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us and that we fell short of what you were expecting. We wish you would have said something while you were still on site, so we could have better addressed your concerns or helped you find accommodations that would have been better suited for you. We do thank you for taking the time to post your review and we will follow up on the blinds in the rooms. We also will be doing FULL Inventory on all of our linens in the coming week and anything that is "sub-standard" will be thrown away in preparation for the 2014 season.
We hope you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills~
Safe Travels ~
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Battle Creek Lodge. There was a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Our room was small with low ceilings and dated furniture, but had a comfortable bed and was immaculately clean. Breakfast was home made and great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

......and a nice clean room. We spent the day exploring Jewel Cave NM and then Mount Rushmore. The Battle Creek Lodge was a convenient place to stop. Easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. If you're looking for a good place to stop that doesn't empty your wallet you've found it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Battle Creek Lodge for 4 nights earlier this month, on the strength of the positive reviews we had read on Trip advisor. A nice stay overall, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the location is perfect for what we came to South Dakota to see-Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments, which are both an easy drive away. There is a nice deck to sit out on and a fire pit to sit around in the evening which sadly we didn't get the chance to use as we were always out and about. An ideal place to stay if you are visiting the monuments-and driving the Iron Mountain Road and the Needles Highway are an absolute must too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battle Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Battle Creek Lodge to your Saves list