We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Genuine Family Warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Happy Birthday, America!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Burlington, VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Genuine Family Warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a room at Battle Creek Lodge based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and it was just as described. A great value and such a pleasant, personal experience. We rolled in late and exhausted. Taped to the front desk door was an envelope for us with a key to our room and a long hand-written note welcoming us, letting us know when breakfast would be serve, etc. etc. We couldn't believe it! Tammy and Cine are just the best. By all means....stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
43
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked this hotel based on its high reviews on Trip Advsior. It lived up to everything their website claimed. It was very cosy and rustic. The rooms were a little small, but that was not a major issue. It is not on the main strip in Keystone, but right off of it. Great location, just a short walking distance from downtown and its activities. The ladies who own the place are very nice and welcoming. Offered suggestions for dining. The breakfast the next morning was continental, but she cooked a hot item for us. I wish we could have stayed another night. There was a firepit and furniture for sitting outside. The place was very clean for a hotel. Highly reccommend. Especially if you like the bed and breakfast feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with a group for 6 nights in July. We booked our rooms based on the reviews and it did not disappoint. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Outdoor space was perfect for gathering at night for a drink and meeting fellow guests. The food was wonderful and Tammy was so friendly and helpful. She even let us park our extra car at her home while we traveled to other locations. We really enjoyed our visit there and look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Battle Creek Lodge for 2 nights last September. I did not think it would be helpful to submit a review at that time because the Lodge was about to close for the season. With the anniversary of our trip approaching I have been thinking about our pleasant experience and the graciousness shown by Tammy during our stay. The Lodge was clean, centrally located in the Black Hills, and the home-cooked breakfasts were exceptional. It is obvious that Tammy and Cine truly care about their customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doniphan, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a lucky day for us when we booked our first reservation at the Battle Creek Inn three years ago. Not only did we find a great place to stay, but have developed a friendship with the owners that will last a lifetime. Tammy and Cine had just taken over ownership of the hotel. They did everything possible to make our stay a very positive experience from providing us a place to park our tailor to allowing us to pull our motorcycles under the deck during a storm. Breakfast is great and the coffee is always on in the lobby. If you are looking for places to go and things to do they are more than happy to provide you with information and directions. The rooms are neat, clean and quiet. They are constantly working to make changes and improvements. The fire pit is a great place to sit and make new friends or just relax. This was the third year at Battle Creek for my husband and I. As long as we keep coming to the Black Hills we will be staying at Battle Creek!
It has become our home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tammy is the best to work with regarding a motel stay. I regard her place as I would a B&B. Excellent starter breakfasts that change every morning from gravy & biscuits to french toast to a breakfast sandwich. Her meals always include fruit, cereals, coffee etc.. One morning during our stay I suffered a bad "nose bleed", and Tammy and her staff were quick to say "we will take of it, and not to worry about it"! They go out of their way to take care of you and make you feel at home! What else could you want??

Room Tip: Their beds are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose Battlecreek Lodge based on the reviews. We called and were told that they had one room left for the night. We held the room with our credit card. We arrived about 6:30 pm. Upon arrival we were informed we had no room. They offered us a room at their other motel down the street, which they recently purchased and were in the process of renovating. We chose to decline. We booked based on reviews about Battlecreek Lodge not another location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyominglady, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Kathy K ~

We are sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped for. Obviously, we have a love for the Black Hills and our passion is sharing that love with our guests. We regret that we were unable to host you during your visit.

There have been few times that I have had to come to the "defense" of our business or the staff that operates it. We work under the philosophy that the guest is always right -- and we do everything in our power to make sure that our guests are provided for and that they get what they need. Even though that is the philosophy we live and work under - -and will continue to live and work under -- there is also a time and place that as a business person, I HAVE to stand up and defend myself and my business. Today is my business.

The situation with this reservation (from our end) was this.... We were contacted on the morning of July 17th by a guest about a room for the same night. As is often the case this time of year -- we were booked (and had been for weeks in advance.) We were asked if there was any chance of a cancellation. We explained that yes, that can happen and that we thought we MIGHT have someone checking out early. It was requested that we put the guest on a waiting list and contact them if anything came up. At no time did we "book a room". We explained we could not promise a room and even suggested that they book someplace else if they wanted to "Guarantee" a room for the night. The guest said they would rather stay with us - so we put them on the list. Unfortunately, nothing came open. We attempted to contact the number that the guest gave us several times through the afternoon, but we unable to make contact - when the guest arrived at the lodge, we explained that we did not have any cancellations and nobody checked out early so we still did not have any accommodations. We explained that we were happy to assist you in finding a place.We did recommend another property that we are affiliated with, in addition to several other options in the area.

As much as we would have loved to accommodate you at our lodge, we do not feel that it is our responsibility to create an opening or find a location for you. You contacted us THE DAY that you wanted to stay. We have 9 rooms and this is often the busiest time of the year. We put you on a "wait list" and we tried to contact you several times through out the day to let you know that it didn't look like we were going to have any cancellations. Beyond that, we offered to help you find alternative lodging when you arrived to the area.

Certainly we regret that you left feeling as though we fell short of your expectations. However, we do not feel like your "review" of our lodge is fair or accurate. We take our guests feedback VERY seriously. We use it as a training tool and a way to focus and grow in our business. We appreciate guests who take time, and care enough about us and the businesses we love, to post reviews and offer us feedback on how to improve our business. Even so, we believe that reviews should be from people who have experienced the business enough they can paint a full picture and be constructive.

Again, we regret that you did not have the experience you were looking for. We do hope you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills.
Safe Travels ~
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battle Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Battle Creek Lodge to your Saves list