We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible breakfast buffet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Railhead Family Restaurant

Railhead Family Restaurant
102 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751
605 666 5210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 32 restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible breakfast buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sunday morning was breakfast was buffet only with a very poor selection. The scrambled eggs and sausage had no taste. There was no bacon until we were done eating. The pre-made toast in a basket was old and cold. The french toast sticks were hard as a rock. As we were leaving we finally saw a meager selection of fruit and a few pastries. Gee, you can get all this for a mere $10.95 per person. I suggest you go to the other end of the boardwalk to the Rushmore All American Family Restaurant for a decent breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

15% Recommend
    10
    9
    13
    25
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had vacationed in Keystone and saw a commercial for this place. We thought we would give it a try. I will admit when they said they had a buffet I was a little skeptical. But to my surprise it was actually really good. The food actually tasted like home cooked and not like it had been sitting out like most buffets do and the staff was very friendly. We had come back a day later and the owner himself had remembered us. This restaurant has a small town atmosphere, and was nice to see in a town that gets a lot of traffic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try to Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The White House Resort which was lovely. This restaurant was attached and very convenient. The food was blah, eggs overdone, pancakes hard on edges, bill added wrong, corrected but still wrong, no apology, VERY expensive. On duty manager showed annoyance when we approached her about overcharge. After we ate we asked to use rest room and were told to use public rest room across street. Someone spoke up and said, "they just ate here." Reply, "Oh." Horrible experience.

Best breakfast Burger King, Rapid City. Amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Not many places to stop along I-90 in South Dakota. Signs indicated this was a special tourist stop, and we were hungry.

The diner is located in a series if railroad passenger cars next to a museum. The diner has seen better days. They offer fresh sandwiches, salads and burgers. 3 of us ate for $23.

The establishment is more of a curiosity than good restaurant. There are restaurants at the next with less than 10, miles to the west.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Railhead Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We liked it! We sat on the deck had lemonade in the shade, watched the traffic & train go by. The wait staff is from out of country but she was very nice (a bit hard to understand) but our food was really good, we ordered off the kids menu & it was about $5 for a kids meal w/drink. Our family thought it was good food & good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railhead Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Railhead Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railhead Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.