We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT VALUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powder House Lodge Restaurant

Powder House Lodge Restaurant
24125 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
+1 800-321-0692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Oshkosh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

On a recent 4 night stay in Hill City we loved this place so much the first time we came back again with friends. The chicken cordon bleu was very good, the salads excellent, the steak very good as well. They have a great patio for drinks while you wait for seating. Nice ambience inside and extensive menu. The bartender (Carmella?) can't seem to speak a word of English, but if you don't mind settling for your drinks you'll do okay here. Would stop here again- reminds us of a good supper club in Wisconsin.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    124
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Prime RiBBB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Excellent prime rib, the best we have ever had anywhere and there were four in our party. We all agreed on that. You will have to wait during peak times. The restaurant was recommended by locals, and it was a rare find in this area. They make a salad with apples, cheese, cranberries, etc that was just excellent. Male waiter first night was great, female, was so so but food made it worth our while.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great steaks and prime rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ate at this restaurant but did not stay at this lodge. The food was great, the filet was wonderful. This place gets really busy after 6 PM, so I suggest dining early or late.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The TA rating and reviews are misleading. It took 10 minutes for the server to come take our order, 20 minutes for our breakfast to be served cold and wrong, and a manager who wanted to argue about fixing the order. No thanks after the long wait. The restaurant was maybe 1/3 full. Maybe it was a bad day for the staff but the arguing is just bad customer service regardless of staffing constraints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Buffalo Medallions and Shrimp Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great service. Busy restaurant. Exactly what we were looking for. Had some charm. Reasonably priced dinner right down the road from Mount Rushmore.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder House Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Powder House Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powder House Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.