We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powder House Lodge Restaurant

Powder House Lodge Restaurant
24125 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
+1 800-321-0692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Keystone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hastings
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great quality, small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The quality and variety of food is wonderful. The atmosphere is good. The price is very fair. The quantity is a bit to be desired. My husband went away hungry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    124
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent menu, great specials and a polite, friendly staff. They serve Elk, Buffalo and other local favorites. Don't skip desert!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Excellent Menu and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our B&B hosts recommended Powder House to my husband and me and after eating there once, we decided to eat there two more nights before leaving the Black Hills. They have a very large menu and all six menu items we had (3 each), we can say that every one of them was excellent. The desserts were all homemade and the rhubarb-cherry crisp with a scoop of vanilla ice cream was out of this world.The service is very good and the two different waiters we had were very attentive. The selections on the menu were creative and the two specialities each evening were also very creative. I noted on the back of the menu that they have a large selection of meals for those with Celiac Disease which is not something I have noted in many restaurants. The restaurant was very busy all three nights, and I would recommend making reservations. This is a restaurant that I would recommend to even the pickiest eater and one I would definitely return to if I'm in the Black Hills again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Fine Restaurant with Good Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed two dinners at the Powder House restaurant just down the road from our motel. The steaks and their specialty chicken were really outstanding and reasonably priced. Service was excellent both evenings. It’s a popular place and we had a short wait the second evening. We recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice menu--great variety. Enjoyed a wonderful salad & Buffalo stew. Wait staff was very pleasant & fast. Atmosphere was great. Would like to have tried more on the menu. Would recommend this restaurant for eating in Keystone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder House Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Powder House Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powder House Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.