We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Subway Restaurant

Subway Restaurant
804 Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751
+(1)6056665201
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Fast Food, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
St. joseph mo.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We orderd steak and cheese the person who took the order did not understand what we wanted and the did not have some of the toppings and they did'nt know if they accepted credit cards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPicnic, Owner at Subway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your visit. We appreciate your patronage in our community of Keystone. And although we are challenged with hiring and training for a very short season, we are proud of the fact that this Subway location has a world-wide reach and exposure both with American and International tourists as well as our diverse staff of employees. Although we're only open May through September, we hire over 40 students from US high schools and International Universities from 9 countries on 4 continents and the island of Jamaica.

Again I apologize, it certainly isn't our business model to deliver poor hospitality to our guests. If I may suggest, in the future if you struggle with communication in a restaurant, please make a manager or owner aware immediately of the situation. Since we closed September and your review is posted October 15, it's impossible for me to correct behaviors or training issues that you observed in July. On your next summer visit to Keystone please stop to see how we're doing.
Thank you for your consideration. - David Holmgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Food as expected, cleanliness below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate breakfast here on our trip across the country. The food was your typical Subway fare, but the cleanliness of the place was gross! They were getting a delivery, and had the door propped open. The number of flies that were entering the food preparation area amazed me - I'm glad they made our food before the flies swarmed over the food prep and storage area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPicnic, Owner at Subway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit to Keystone. We appreciate your business in our little community.
I'm sorry your visit to our restaurant we below your standards back in July. I take cleanliness of our locations very seriously and have great respect of life and health safety standards for consumers and employees alike. Our pest control program is totally chemical free and authorized by Subway world wide to include but not limited to outdoor repellent panels, air curtains on all entrances and UV light traps. Unfortunately the best program cannot keep up with flying insects in high volume locations. Although we close for the season in September, we are evaluating systems and routines for future developments.

Again thank you for your review.
David Holmgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Northwestern Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a good glass of ice cold brewed tea early in the morning, this is the place. I am not a coffee drinker & like my iced tea instead. The Subway opens early & this the place to go!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPicnic, Owner at Subway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We like the fresh brewed Ice Tea too!
Come back and see us again.

David Holmgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Mostly a typical Subway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Food was typically subway fresh and good. Service was decent. This restaurant shares a common area with Dairy Queen. It was moderately busy at 2:00 on Saturday in late August but service was fast. There are about 2 outdoor tables with a nice view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fast even though busy. Same quality as you would expect in your own hometown. One of the better values we found while in the Hills.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subway Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Subway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Subway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.