We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Powder House Lodge to your Saves list
Powder House Lodge
24125 Hwy 16A, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at Powder House Lodge and found it to be a convenient and relaxing place to stay. The cabins are very comfortable and clean. Our porch had a swing along with two chairs. Inside, there were two beds, a kitchen table and chairs, TV, tub and shower, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker. (I think it had a microwave and mini fridge too, but not certain). It has an outdoor pool which looked like it was well maintained. We were very impressed with the food. We had supper and breakfast there. Both were excellent and reasonably priced. They also have a bar with an outside sitting area. It's only about a ten minute drive to Mount Rushmore from there. No heavy traffic either. Staying here was better than staying in a hotel. It just seemed "homey". Your Rushmore parking pass is good for a year. So we went that night and saw it lit up, then checked out the following morning and spent the day at the park. The staff is very friendly and personable. They also told us of other places of interest in the area. (Pigtail Drive) I would HIGHLY recommend Powder House to anyone planning on visiting the Mount Rushmore and Keystone areas.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms up on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    49
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in 2 different cabins and both were very nice. Clean and comfortable with nice sitting areas on the porch. Very dog friendly and they have laundry facilities. Staff was very helpful and accommodating for a last minute additional nite. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both were good. Liked the convenience of eating on site.

Room Tip: The further up the hill the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great cabins. Very clean. Dog friendly which was great for us. The restaurant on site had great breakfast and dinner. Having the restaurant there made it nice to go back to after a long day sightseeing. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked the honey moon cabin with the hot tub. It has a nice deck on the side with a swing. The hot tub was clean and ready to go.They held our room for late check-in with no problems. It was cleaner than our stay 2 years ago. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was wonderful, friendly staff and owner. Will definitly eat there again.
We rented duplex cabins, my sis and her hubby in #43 and we were in 42. Great view, comfortable. All employees and staff excellent. Very pet friendly as we each have a cocker spaniel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Was there 05/10/2013 to 05/14/2013 Had a great time. Nice and quiet. lots of deer in the area.Have been to the Powder House Lodge many times and always a nice time.It's about a mile away on US 16A which makes it nice. (away from town). The restaurant has very good food also!
If your going to stay in Keystone The Powder House Lodge is the only place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in the "hotel" part of this lodge as all the individual cabins are for four persons or more. Room was very clean and everything was in great shape if not recently renovated. However, the microwave had a short in it and the beds were a little bit too soft for us. Still, it was a real bargain at $77/night with our AAA discount. Hotel is right there on the edge of town. When asked, the town locals all seem to recommend the Powder House Restaurant for dinner (right there on their property). They have quite a diverse menu to include wild game, i.e. buffalo & goose, which they are known for. Ice can be picked up by the bag for free at the check-in building. Would stay here again. Sept.2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Address: 24125 Hwy 16A, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powder House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.