We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Save
You added Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites to your Saves list
320 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751-0654   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Glencoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in a king suite 3 nights the first week of July. The room was very nice and luxiourious. Everything was spotless and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. The room as very spacious for our family of four. It had two TVs, a sofa sleeper, chair, fireplace. Everything looked brand new. It was great! We did not have much contact with the staff during our stay. The pool was a little cold but I saw it being cleaned every morning. The only negative is the breakfast area. It is very crowded during the weekend and the food is mediocre but the staff did their best to keep food items stocked. Would stay here again if in Keystone.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
91
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent one night here in a large and comfortable suite. The decorations were the usual mountain theme pictures. We had a king size bed with was very comfortable and the pillows were soft (which I like). Our room was located by the pool which made it a little noisy. The breakfast buffet was so-so but it was included in our stay. It's located on the outside of town and very close to Mt. Rushmore. Would recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool if you want a quiet evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had stayed in this very same hotel four years ago. This hotel left such a great impression that we seeked it out and stayed in it this year, when we returned to South Dakota. The pool and spa were well maintained and cleaned. The suites and bathrooms themselves were spacious and cleaned well, and the beds were comfortable. Wonderful and caring staff made the stay even more enjoyable. My only problem with this hotel is the breakfast. We waited in line for 20 minutes just to be treated with food that was mediocre and bland when it came to options. Despite this, I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Keystone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for choosing Rushmore Express! We're glad we made enough of an impression on you 4 years ago to bring you back, and also glad that it sounds like you had an overall excellent stay. Thanks also for taking the time to review us and give feedback, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a suite which was very nice but very dark. the kids had a bunk bed which was fun for them. The staff was Very Friendly & helpful. There is a pool & hot tub which were full most of the time but when it was empty nice, except the pool was a little chilly. The Breakfast was terrible, we went at 8 am the first morning and stood in line for not very good food, the 2nd morning went early hoping to avoid the line & they opened last & the food was not ready so we still stood in line for what was available then had to stand in line when they brought the eggs out. We wouldn't stay again because there are so many neat places to stay if we had known we would have chosen a cabin, but it was fine! Parking wasn't great but on a side note, there was a place we were looking at, Mt Rushmore Resorts has 3 locations & parking would have been TERRIBLE if you drive a suburban, one of the resorts had parking down a hill for bigger vehicles? That's right down a steep hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Large and comfy accessible room. Near pool which made it a bit noisy. Stayed in a family suite. Way over priced. No outside windows. Window looked into the hallway. Convenient location. Toward outskirts of town. Breakfast very crowded. Very close to Mount Rushmore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We're glad you chose Rushmore Express for your vacation! Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your thoughts. We love our location here as well, it's conveniently close to town but tucked away enough to still have a little quiet and privacy. And we're glad that you found your room large, comfortable and accessible.

Also I apologize for the inconvenience with the proximity to the pool and the room type. Out of our Luxury Suites, 9 out of 42 have interior-facing windows, and are priced slightly lower due to the lack of an outside view. In the future if you find your room unsatisfactory, let our front desk or management staff know and we will see if we can move you to a room that better fits your needs as we have availability.

Lastly as a quick note, I would like to add that our rooms are priced quite competitively with other hotels in Keystone that offer similar amenities, room size and type. A price comparison with other highly rated hotels in Keystone will show that we are among the most affordable for what we offer, and are actually underpriced (particularly for our Luxury Suites). This is especially true over holidays such as the 4th of July weekend, as all hotels in Keystone raise their rates during this time.

Thanks and we hope to see you again at the Express,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a family suite for my family and Grandpa and Grandma and it worked out great! Plenty of room for all of us. Only thing I would change is the space in the breakfast area was very crowded. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Wonderful! We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us, and that your room worked out well. We tend to get a lot of good reviews on our Family Suites, as they're perfect for (as the name would suggest) families but also provide a high-end and comfortable hotel experience.

As far as breakfast, thanks for the feedback. One thing I think you will be happy to hear is that, since you stayed with us in June, we have expanded our breakfast area through providing outdoor seating as well. Breakfast is still bustling but it is now more spacious and with more options for seating.

Thanks and we hope to see you again at the Express!

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room was not at all like the pictures. Not a good value for the price! We were on the 1st floor; rooms had not been remodeled here. I didn't take my shoes off for fear of walking on the carpet! People above us were noisy. Trouble is they charge a cancellation fee; otherwise, I for sure would have gone elsewhere. They ran out of food for the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites. We always appreciate guest feedback, whether positive or constructive.

On behalf of the Rushmore Express, I would like to begin by saying I am sorry your overall experience appears to have been quite negative. In the future the best thing to do would be to talk to one of our front desk staff or managers about your frustrations, as I believe many of them could have been averted. While we do have a no-cancellation policy, we do make exceptions, and we would have gladly moved you to a quieter room (or to one that better matched your expectations) or, if need be, let you out of your reservation had you brought up your concerns with us.

In regards to food running out for our continental breakfast, I will make a mention of this to our staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

As for the value, we would encourage any future guests to do a price comparison of other hotels in Keystone with comparable rooms and amenities, as we are incredibly competitive price-wise with other hotels here, and are actually underpriced.

As far as the first floor not being remodeled, I would like to add as an aside that the entire hotel was significantly and comprehensively renovated in 2005-06. Our Luxury Suites were added then, and the rest of the hotel was remodeled, so your room (including your carpet) should have been quite clean and fresh. Our Country Rustic rooms look vastly different from our Luxury Suites, and we do have 6 different room types, so perhaps this may have been the source of confusion with the pictures. Our website has excellent pictures of our different room types for future reference.

We hope you have a great summer,

Sincerely,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751-0654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that the Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.