We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suite - very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Save
You added Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites to your Saves list
320 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751-0654   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great suite - very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Suite 338. With three people sharing (each a different generation) the room was great! Breakfast was a bit of a letdown, but, the other amenities were top notch. The salt water taffy was a sweet bonus. I intend to book with this hotel when we next travel to SD. Keystone seems to be the perfect axis spot to be to get a number of different daytrips completed. We'll just do breakfast at Peggy's...

The staff at Rushmore Express were very nice to deal with.

Room Tip: We all loved suite 338. A lovely accommodation - simply couldn't have been more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware Road-Tripping Family
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay at the Rushmore Express in Keystone SD. Hotel would have received 5 stars if not for a reservation issue.

Our stay didn't start out well ... there was a mix-up in our reservation and the room we had pre-paid for several months ago wasn't available. The staff at the hotel handled it (and my fit!) extremely well and very professionally.

Our family of 5 was upgraded to the Hemingway Suite. Ridiculously large & wonderful in every way. Even with two roll-away beds in the living room, we had so much room. VERY clean. Smelled fresh, looked fresh.

We had two couches, a chair with an ottoman, fireplace, a bar area with mini-frig/sink/microwave, a table and chairs to seat 8, and a couple of tables in the living room alone. We never felt cramped. The bedroom area had two queen beds, 2 chairs with ottomans, a huge armoire, dresser, and nightstand. Gorgeous.

However, the space is a little weird. It almost felt like a conference room or former gathering space that had been converted to suites. Ceiling was ridiculously tall and there were no windows in the living room. Bedroom had one window (which partially opened - yah for fresh air!) which looked directly into a rock wall.

Bathroom was large and VERY clean. Loved the integrated clothesline in the bathtub - wish all hotels with pools had those.

No issues with room temperature. We used both a/c and heat during our stay & the room was comfortable. Liked the ceiling fans.

Breakfast was decent but basic (cereal, bread, fruit, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, etc). One hot selection each day (pancakes, biscuits & gravy, etc). Changed a little each day. Coffee was surprisingly good.

Kids enjoyed the pool, although it did get crowded at night.

We kept seeing the same staff members tackle different jobs -- front desk, helping at breakfast, bringing in a food delivery, dropping off extra towels, etc. I was very impressed with their professionalism, friendliness, and responsiveness.

Location is top-notch. Easy walk to downtown Keystone and a very quick drive to Mt Rushmore and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I searched hotels in Keystone and with the great reviews Rushmore express had I found they also had the best prices. The Rushmore express is almost like 2 hotels in one.. you have your standard outside units (which we were in) but if you went inside the building you could see the difference there was.. I am pretty sure the suites were much better but I was happy for the price with what we had. And for outside rooms, the place was quiet. Only once I heard people making noise outside and that is because they were younger kids but other than that...I didn't even hear our neighbors.

Our room consisted of 2 queen size beds, mini fridge and microwave. Check in was easy and the front desk was nice enough. There is breakfast that starts at 7am-9 and I wish that did start earlier because on the day we left we had to opt out because I wanted to be on the road before 7am. The breakfast was decent but I think the staff was overwhelmed. One poor girl couldn't keep up with stocking things fast enough.

My girls used the pool which was fun but kind of small and on our second night it was packed with kids.. The best part of staying here was location. You are in walking distant to two restaurants and some activities. Across the streets, there is a zipline, adventure slides and this adventure tree thing that my oldest daughter just loved and almost completed but she ran out of time. Mt. Rushmore is only about 5 min up the hill so your drive is very short. There is a dairy queen and subway around the corner also.

I think my one and only complaint was the air condition in our room.. It was set to 60 but it would hardly cycle on.. I am pretty sure it wasn't working so my nights were warm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This non-smoking hotel was a joy to stay the night. Super clean room, good breakfast with a decent variety to suit most tastes, and very friendly staff. Fairly priced and about as close as you can get to the memorial too. Other than the fact that I could not get bandwidth on their wifi network, I had an great stay here and would definately stay their again if ever in Keystone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

nice hotel in an excellent area near Mt Rushmore. Breakfast and wifi included with the price of the room, which was a nice bonus. Within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Only 2 miles from Mt Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake wi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family of 5 rented the family suite and loved it. Huge clean rooms and the price was very fair. My in laws got upgraded for free to be closer to the grand kids and staff goes out of way to take care of guests. Only advice is get to breakfast early because it goes get pretty picked over. I would definitely state there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in new suites. Rooms were clean and well designed. Location was close but away from main traffic. Bring cords for your portable devices every room has a tv with hookups. Kids thought it was cool to watch their own movies.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751-0654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that the Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.