We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our visit to Mt. Rushmore. This is one of the newest hotels so our room was clean and comfortable. The towels were surprisingly soft. The staff was friendly and helpful. The indoor pool looked nice though we didn't use it. This was the last hotel on the town strip so it was quiet yet a very easy walk to the shops and restaurants. Only 2 drawbacks: like the others hotels this backs right up to the hillside. We were on the 3rd floor so the hill was about 30 feet away but on the 1st floor it's dark and the hill is less than 10 feet from your window. If you are on the street side there's no issue with this. The other drawback was the breakfast. I probably could have gotten by with cereal or a bagel but my 2 hungry guys needed more and the eggs didn't look good. Overall we would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    124
    63
    16
    9
See reviews for
156
114
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice location to keystone attractions. They had a nice pool and guest laundry. Parking is tricky. Quiet and clean. Barlee's restaurant across the lot was good.
Breakfast was just ok, but they have a variety, just not too great on taste. Halls and elevator were hot. Rooms were nice though. Good beds and pillows!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express, but nicer. Great walking location to town. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Walked to town for dinner.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting the local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent an evening here while passing through to visit Mt. Rushmore. Room was nice and clean and modern. Staff was very attentive and pleasant. The indoor pool looked very inviting although we didn't try it out. The best part of the stay was breakfast. A full choice of items was available and made for a great start to a very long day. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Viejo, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are a couple we stayed for three nights. The service desk was efficient and friendly. We were placed in a quiet room since this was beginning of summer vacation for many young families. The breakfast area does fill up fast during peak hours however there is two beautiful seating areas in the lobby that welcomes diners. The lobby is beautifully furnished and has a welcome appeal. The hotel location is excellent just minutes away from Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore, there is an 1800 train across the street that will take you through beautiful landscape on the way to Hill City. The city of Keystone has excellent dinning options and watering holes. Much to see in this area. Definitely will stay here again and will recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were 3 friends on a 2 week road trip, and we stayed at this location for 3 nights. It provided us what we needed at a reasonable price; comfortable, clean, friendly staff, and convenient location for the places we wanted to visit. All-in-all I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Just a head's up - the front doors are not automatic so can be a bit difficult to negotiate if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The service at the desk and cleaning people was really, really good. Rooms are clean and well kept up. Indoor heated pool is good for kids. Near restaurants and shops (way too many shops, btw). Well located. Staff really did a great job during our stay. There was no fitness center for those who want one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.