We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Pretty Good....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room Was Good. Carpets Need Shampooing. All the staff were very nice. Not enough parking. The majority of the parking lot is employee parking. Do they have that many employees?? But was a nice hotel and we would stay there again but parking needs to be fixed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    129
    67
    18
    9
See reviews for
161
119
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful answering questions, and making us feel welcome. The evening front desk staff made a point to acknowledge my young son every time we walked in. Breakfast was good and we didn't find dining space to be an issue. Great location for many attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Biggest positive is proximity to Mt. Rushmore. I expected a better property for Holiday Inn Express.
I would recommend considering other properties in area or driving further. Limited parking at hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of hotel would be quieter. Parking is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear James G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because it is close to Mt. Rushmore and we could visit in the afternoon and go back for the lighting ceremony. Because this is a tourist town, the rate was more expensive than we generally pay for a Holiday Inn Express. Hotel is convenient and in walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Our King room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was good but seating is limited in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial, and Custer State Park. We were on the first floor and our room was just average. Clean and sufficient, but people were walking by our window so we had to keep the curtains closed which made it dark all the time. It did have a refrigerator and coffee maker. The laundry was down the hall and I did one load of clothes as we were traveling for 2 weeks. The breakfast was good, but the room was way too small and people had to take their food into the lobby or back to their room. They could easily expand the tables into the lobby area and they really should do this. This is not a new hotel, and they have made some upgrades.
There are newer, cheaper places in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear shivergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

I humbly apologize for we fell below your standards with regard to your room condition. We regret that your stay was not ideal and we are truly sorry for the lapse in service.

I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is ideal for people on family vacations and a nice getaway. The hotel is literally 3 miles from Mt. Rushmore. There are many restaurants within walking distance on the hotel. There is free breakfast in the morning too. My only complaint is that there is very little seating in the breakfast area. We had to eat in the lobby, which is fine, it just would be nice if we could eat closer to the buffet.
Overall, our stay was terrific!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I didn't really know how close this hotel was to Mount Rushmore, but am very glad it was! The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed there while the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally was going on up in Sturgis, so a number of bikers were also staying at the hotel. Breakfast room was a bit small, but we were able to get a table and eat before we headed out for our daily adventures.

The hotel is in walking distance to downtown Keystone where there are shops, bars and restaurants. One of the better restaurant we found was just next door, BarLee's. We will stay again if we go back out to the Blackhills and Mount Rushmore area. The spot was very convenient to use as a base to get to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park, Badlands National Park and Wall Drug.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.