We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was very friendly and the food good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red's Chicken House and BBQ

Red's Chicken House and BBQ
80415 Highway 16A, Keystone, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Healthy
Restaurant details
1 review
“The staff was very friendly and the food good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

We ate breakfast there two mornings and both times the food was excellent! The service was great. The prices were very reasonable. Give the Western Omelet a try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jensenni1, Manager at Red's Chicken House and BBQ, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review! We do have sad news though, our breakfast cook, Whitey, had a heart attack and underwent immediate open heart surgery. He is doing good and is on the road to a full recovery. Your breakfast was one of the last he cooked and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed it that much. Please give him a shout out or send him a message if you liked his cooking, we want to make sure he see's that he's appreciated. Thanks for stopping in and have a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    10
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denison, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST PLACE EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

3 days in a row our family had breakfast on our visit. Omelettes were the BEST in my many travels. Favorite choice was the Denver omelette. Pancakes were huge and tasty that my two sons could only eat two and be full. Friendliest place in town. The cook was awesome. He knows how to cook!!!!! He was also very entertaining with his stories and jokes.Would recommened to anyone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wish we could say we liked it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

From the outside it looked like all we needed: home cooked bbq and beer. But the ribs were really tough and very overpriced. We paid 24.95 for a full rack in a diner atmosphere! Plus the owner stopped by our table and tried to sell us the restaurant. Really... he was selling it and tried to get us on board. It was a very creepy and distracting end to a disappointing meal. My husband says i am being too harsh. And i must admit i am a tough critic of ribs since our local joint is world famous. But I would not stop at Red's again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Had a great food experience. Ribs were awesome. Fries down home good. Don't expect the fast food type. This is the way fries should be made. Chicken was rated super by the toughest critic in the group. Will definitely return next visit.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeping Water, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It was average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had dinner there on Friday night. The ribs were not as good as I thought they would be. The buffalo melt my daughter had was very good. It is a very small place. We had a great meal at the Ruby House in Keystone also.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Chicken House and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red's Chicken House and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's Chicken House and BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.