We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brookside Motel to your Saves list
Brookside Motel
603 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Laurel, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a cute place to stay. It's not a giant hotel where you have to take an elevator up several levels and walk down a long hall. The price is just right. We had a room with 2 beds and a door between the rooms. Perfect for us with 2 small children who didn't want to sleep when we did lol. Pool is very small but we weren't there for that... overall great stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Looked up places to stay in keystone. Found this motel. Call them directly, as it was cheaper through them than on price line or the other search sites. When we arrived, the TV and remote didn't work. Horrible thought for my husband. They took care of it pronto. They also have a breakfast which we didn't expect. It was better than the chain hotel we stayed at the night before. Very friendly staff. Two miles from Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently traveled to South Dakota and the Brookside Motel is definitely on the rise. I learned the Brookside has new Owners and the improvements are evident. The Brookside is just off Keystone's main street, far enough away from tourist attractions but close enough to still walk to the center. The room was very clean and provided a great nights sleep after a long day. The Staff was very friendly and genuine. Genuine Staff is all the reason I will come back when I make it back to the Black Hills. I passed by the Staff several times during my stay, whether it was in the parking lot or on my way to relax in a chair by the creek and each time I was greeted with a "hello" as well as "are you enjoying your stay?" or "is there anything you need?". Just a great experience staying at a motel where the staff actually cared, staying at the Brookside Motel is not like staying at a motel, it's like staying with friends. I hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We came exhausted and stayed in room 106. The back porch had a great view of a babbling brook and birds galore! We relaxed in our room jacuzzi and hiked the great town of Keystone. Upon asking where a good dining place was, we were directed to Peggy's. It had wonderful food and the best bread pudding we ever ate!
The room was huge, with a king sized bed, new flat screen, microwave and fridge. Loved the citrus all natural soap provided.
Breakfast was from 7-9, and all homemade by the owner! It was wonderful. The rate was so good, we stayed two days! It allowed us to see all the attractions in the area, like Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, 1880 train and Bear World!
We will definately stay here again. No franchise place for us! Friendliest staff we ever met!
We love you, Brookside!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 103/106/109 for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We rolled into SD with no reservations and were lucky enough to come across this place-it was exactly everything I wanted. Immediately I checked for signs of bedbugs (I'm a property manager) and found nothing-HUGE relief. Then I discovered the little creek with perfect little water falls, abundant wild life, and picnic areas. Minutes from everywhere we wanted to visit! Friendly neighbors and staff. Everything about this place is astoundingly awesome! It was out of our price range and will cut our vacation a few days short---but even yet--totally worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place has friendly staff, clean rooms and great prices. We enjoyed our visit to the Black Hills and loved Keystone. The motel is small, the pool is small and was closed due to weather, but the hospitality is huge!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Great local being able to look west and see the cross on the hill every morning was a beautiful sight. The white tail would eat soda crackers from the upper deck. Every nite they would come out want to eat. You can almost set your watch by it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 603 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.