We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine slide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidents' Alpine Slide

Presidents' Alpine Slide
203 Cemetery Road, Rushmore Tramway, Keystone, SD 57751
(605) 666-4478
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 attractions in Keystone
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
nyc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Alpine slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fun way to spend a hour, take the ski lift to the top of the mountain, have a hamburger or hot dog and the grill and ride the alpine slide down.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    90
    21
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Very fun way to take a break from all the sightseeing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our boys (7&12) thought this was great fun. Surprisingly, the adults liked it too (mom, dad, and grandma). Of course, it is a bit pricey for what it is, but that comes with the area. Overall, we did not feel it was a bad deal. Also, if you have the Black Hills coupon book, there is a discount for this place in there.

You ride the ski lift up to the top. They will take a picture of you just before you get off, so be prepared for that if you want to purchase it. The sun was shining right in our eyes and we all have squinting eyes and kind of mean looks on our faces. LOL. You can get prints, but we just ordered ours to be sent to us via e-mail, which worked out great and were home on the computer when we got back from our trip.

Once at the top, you have an amazing view and a few little fun photo ops. There is also a nice snack shop right up here where you can have a decent lunch and even a beer if you would like. Food was not bad and the beer was nice and cold.

When you are ready to go back down, you can slide down on the huge slide or just take the ski lift back down. The hubby and boys took the slide down and my MIL and I just rode the ski lift back. We made it to the bottom well before the kids, which was nice because I just walked up the hill a little bit and found a good spot to watch them come racing down a short time later.

There are some funny t-shirts in the gift shop, but we did not see much else there that really stood out.

If you think you are going to want to do this more than once, ask about pricing for multiple rides. Our boys really wanted to go again and again, but we had only purchased the one-ride each entrance and we were not paying the same all over again.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the area for a little down time from sightseeing and just a fun little place to check out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The kids were getting a bit bored driving around from attraction to attraction. The skilift, lunch and the slide down really energized the family. A bit pricey but lots of fun. The food was fresh and well prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I liked the food and drinks they had at the top, it was 3 bucks a beer, so it was cheap enough. I wish the slide was a little longer, but it is something for everyone, you can slide down super slow or really fast! we just took about 40 minutes to do this we went up had a beer, and went down. and continued on our way

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Ride the 2000 ft Slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went for the Alpine ride which two seniors managed well, but you can also take the tram down. We were able to control the speed in a bobsled like run 2000 feet down the hill which was a rush it takes one ride to get the feel of the sled, so next time we'll buy multiple ride tickets.

The tram ride up with a tram ride, but thrilling for some kids. You can see Mount Rushmore from the top, but we had already been there so it was anti-climactic. There is a garden and waterfalls in the area that are very tranquil and you can walk through it with several views of the surrounding area. It's also a peaceful place to enjoy lunch, which we did.

They offer brats, burgers, gill cheese and a salad or two. I had a chicken sandwich on a cold croissant and my friend had a char-grilled hamburger that was okay for the $5 price. They offered chips, soda and a variety beers, which seem to be very popular on a hot afternoon.

They will close the last week of Aug when school begins, open for Labor Day Weekend and then close for the winter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presidents' Alpine Slide also viewed

 

Been to Presidents' Alpine Slide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidents' Alpine Slide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Presidents' Alpine Slide to your Saves list