We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Good' but not 'Very Good as monuments go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial
13000 Hwy 244, Keystone, SD 57751-0268
605-574-2523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sculptor Gutzon Borglum created this famous mountainside carving of the visages of four great American presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt.
Epsom, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“'Good' but not 'Very Good as monuments go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We actually got a bigger kick out of getting here than seeing it. The drive was brilliant, exciting, beautiful and full of wow, gosh, look-at-that, stop-a-moment etc.

Mt Rushmore, in fact I would go so far as to say, we found a bit of an anticlimax and were disappointed. Its big, impressive, cleverly designed (crafted/sculpted), took a lot of hard work, cost a fortune (in those days) and it was done a long-time ago, yet it still lacked the wow-factor.

We just did not expect a multi-storey Car Park and a huge Coach Park, an amphitheater and a concrete concourse - thoroughly 'OTT'.

Being mobbed by Tourists did not help (and we were told it was quite quiet that day (in mid-May).

Xanterra's run the Souvenir Shop - enough said.

It is worth visiting, but we felt more down to the place in history (of those depicted), symbolism, & craftmanship. Very photogenic, but one did need to exercise patience to get a shot without the hordes in the background, foreground and to every side. They really took all the potential serenity from the place and mangled i.t

Maybe, if we had children in tow, it would have been different, but we didn't and it wasn't

We have heard of folks that said they could have stayed all day, they were that enthralled. We managed about an hour and found that plenty. Plus ca change.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,677
    702
    157
    44
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Informative displays and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was worth the drive from Kansas! Parking is about $11 but we went on Christmas eve (was open) and there was no parking fee :) The displays and exhibition rooms were worth it, if you are one to not just take the views but spend some time reading. Wheelchair accessible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A National Landmark that Touched my Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Seeing Mount Rushmore was such a moving experience! Nature's beauty and man's creative artistry all rolled into one. The hike around the monument was really enjoyable. It was sad to see that some people actually had the stones to drop litter along the way, but the site was kept up well and clean - and the ranger at the admission area was cheerful, helpful and pleasant. We had close parking (trip was end of Aug) and were able to get great views. Got to see lots of wildlife, including a mountain goat. Went back to see the patriotic night time service where veteran's were honored. So glad we went during the day and then also attended the night time service - doing both proved to be worth the time and effort. One of the nicest experiences we've ever had as a family!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An enduring great project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The drive in is lots of fun, at least when arriving from Wyoming's barren wasteland. Efficient staff direct traffic to parking. The pedestrian processional approach builds drama, invoking each state. On-site museum provides great insight into the development of the project, but is geared for the historically curious. Children won't love it.

And yes, once you cast eyes upon the great stone carvings, you might be disappointed. They might seem small or distant. Or they might seem a magnificent accomplishment of political will and craftsman skill.

It's a pilgrimage all Americans should consider. Other visitors will also enjoy the visit, but there aren't too many other diversions anywhere nearby.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

For starters i thought it would be bigger and more grandiose. There is lot of rubble where the presidents necks are suppose to be and there seems to be quite a bit of erosion on their facial features. The heads don't seem to be in the best of conditions. The little museum is interesting in that you get a full explanation of how and why they built it which considering the era it is an impressive feat of engineering.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Rushmore National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Mount Rushmore National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Rushmore National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.