We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unchanging Monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial
13000 Hwy 244, Keystone, SD 57751-0268
605-574-2523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sculptor Gutzon Borglum created this famous mountainside carving of the visages of four great American presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt.
Fairbury, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unchanging Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is as beautiful as anyone would expect from a national monument visited by millions every year. The view is indescribable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,677
    702
    157
    44
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baker, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have visited it before but to see it lighted at night & to walk the hicking trail to get up closer was wonderful

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A brilliant afternoon visit, plenty of parking. The information available was 1st class. Excellent value for money with the voucher allowing you a return visit in the next 2 months.
Don't bother with the restaurant, cooked food was abandoned on most tables as inedible. The cold cup of tea I had cost $2.50. All food was very expensive and service from the staff was very poor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mt. Rushmore - A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When in the Black Hills of South Dakota Mt. Rushmore is definitely a must see! The night lighting ceremony, Volks March and fireworks display during the 4th of July are all things that everyone should experience when touring the Black Hills area. Beautiful, Educational & Historic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never Paid to Get In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were on a time schedule driving across country from NY. By the time we got to SD the memorial was closed but you can still drive in, for free. So we got some great photos. I would've loved to see it closer if we had the time. We went back at night also. I was so glad we got the pictures that same day because the next morning the fog was so heavy, you couldn't even see the faces - AT ALL!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Rushmore National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Mount Rushmore National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Rushmore National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.