We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn something every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Cave

Rushmore Cave
13622 Hwy 40, Keystone, SD 57751
605-255-4384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 attractions in Keystone
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Rushmore Cave, you will find fun on all levels! Explore the stalactite-filled caverns of this amazing natural wonder on a fun and educational cave tour. Soar through the sky on the new Soaring Eagle Zipline Ride or try your skill at the New Gunslinger 7-D Interactive Ride. You are sure to have a great time, full of affordable family fun. It's a total must-do attraction for anyone coming to the Black Hills. Cave tours leave every 15 minutes May-Oct.
Piedmont, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Learn something every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went on a group outing, second time in the cave and learned something new from the guide's presentation. Great guide, answered all the questions and even threw in other details.

Did not do the Zip Line but my kids and grand kids have and really enjoyed.

Did do the 7D, have to admit 3 times, it was fun and very realistic!

Be sure you take your family for a great outing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    22
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great cave and zip line - great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great facilities. The cave is great, but staff needs to do a better job of explaining that things should not be touched. Fun to climb around and the stories were fun. Kids had miners camps and loved looking in all the holes and cracks. Zip line was fun. Had to wait long time in line for such a short ride. But you wnet fast and they pulled you back up hill. Would do again!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a family site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I would like to let you know that before visiting this cave, we went to Jewel Cave and Wind cave so we had learned a few things along the way. We thought we would need a flashlight but this cave was very well lit. I would recommend bringing a flashlight is you have small kids. They may like looking around a bit. That being said, this is a good cave for a family of about 5 or 6 but no more then that. The tour size is very big and you don't have much time to slow down and take pictures. There are a few places to stop but this cave isn't a national park and so it doesn't seem as well protected as the other caves we went to. We didn't go on the zip line but it only takes two people at a time so there was a good sized line to ride. We didn't have time to do the 7D interactive thing because they were closing as we got done with our tour. We were told that they planned on making a few more attractions so this will be a site I go back to in a few years.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Zipline & 7D fun....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Now to be fair we skipped the cave part. No time for geology when there is a zip line and shake em shoot em up game. Now youre not in disneyland so curb your enthusiasim but what the team here have done with these experiences is great for a stop a blast and a laugh. The gift shop is pretty great too. All in all a great wee stop so give it a try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem right near Mt. Rushmore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you like geology this cave was an amazing sight to behold. Our tour group was about 12 the perfect size to hear the guide's information and still see everything at a leisurely pace. Truly spectacular sights of nature's wonders. Zipline was fun as well aand the close location to Mt. Rushmore made this an easy attraction to add to the day. A must see for geology buffs!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rushmore Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rushmore Cave to your Saves list