We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Cave

Rushmore Cave
13622 Hwy 40, Keystone, SD 57751
605-255-4384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 attractions in Keystone
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Rushmore Cave, you will find fun on all levels! Explore the stalactite-filled caverns of this amazing natural wonder on a fun and educational cave tour. Soar through the sky on the new Soaring Eagle Zipline Ride or try your skill at the New Gunslinger 7-D Interactive Ride. You are sure to have a great time, full of affordable family fun. It's a total must-do attraction for anyone coming to the Black Hills. Cave tours leave every 15 minutes May-Oct.
Topeka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Tour might had been better if we didn't have this lame kid cracking horrible dry humor jokes the whole time. If you are large or out of shape...may not be your cup of tea. You can find coupons for a free attraction in the local Traveler catalog in the news stands. Attractions were so-so just like everything else. You can do the whole thing under 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    22
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun for first-timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rushmore Cave is great for first-timers but probaby not for returning people. They do bundle prices also for people who want to do all three attractions.

Me and a friend went through the cave, lots an lots of steps. Wasn't extremely impressed but I'd gladly tell people to go there. The zipline was super short for $9 a person but hey it was fun. Didn't get a chance to do the interactive theater but heard it was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

As far as cave tours goes this one was horrible. Large groups are marched through the cave. The only stops are designed for people to catch up. The cave has been used so much that many of the formations are dead regardless of how much they say it is still alive. Very disappointed. Go to Jewel cave, or Wind Cave.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Was there as a kid - now took my kids / GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The visitor center was nice & having the other attractions such as the 3-D theater and zipline made the experience more fun. The cave was very neat to go through and very safe, though you have to be able to climb stairs quite a bit. Our tour guide Sam was kind of a dud- didn't seem to particularly be excited to be there - maybe just an off day?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Family Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family decided to do all 3 activities offered at the attraction (the cave tour, the zip-line and the 7-D Gunslinger attraction. The cave was interesting although I heard some mumblings from those around me that it was boring. One child told his dad that the tour looked the same in the beginning, the middle and the end. We then did the zip-line and that was a bit short and fast. There was quite a jerk at the bottom of the line and nobody in my family like that. It almost seemed as though the ride down was too fast for the short area given to stop the zip-line. The 7-D Gunslinger was the best. We did the one where we fought Zombies. It was a blast! I would say that the Gunslinger was our favorite attraction. As far as the staff, everyone seemed nice. The tour gal could have talked a little slower, she almost seemed rushed. The price for all three activities for a family of 4 ran us $112~a bit steep for what we got. We are glad we did it but once is good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rushmore Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rushmore Cave to your Saves list