We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Cave

Rushmore Cave
13622 Hwy 40, Keystone, SD 57751
+1 605-255-4384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Attractions in Keystone
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Rushmore Cave, you will find fun on all levels! Explore the stalactite-filled caverns of this amazing natural wonder on a fun and educational cave tour. Soar through the sky on the new Soaring Eagle Zipline Ride or try your skill at the New Gunslinger 7-D Interactive Ride. You are sure to have a great time, full of affordable family fun. It's a total must-do attraction for anyone coming to the Black Hills. Cave tours leave every 15 minutes May-Oct. Attractions open daily, check website for hours and admission prices.
Kanopolis, Kansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was a bit leary about doing the cave tour. When I first stepped in I felt a little claustrophobic but it opened quite a bit once inside. It was a fun way to spend some time out of the sun and it was just the right temperature in august.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    58
    30
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Cave Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been to many of the caves in the Black Hills, and this cave is by far the best. The guides are very entertaining and knowledgeable, and everything is new. We took a ride on the Zipline, which was great too. I highly recommend the Rushmore Cave, and look forward to visiting it again in the future!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“decent cave plus other stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been to a few caves and this was one of the better ones. The general tour was a good 30 minutes or more. They also offered two more advanced tours that put one through some very small spaces. There is a bench seat near the entrance to the gift shop with two test openings built into the base. If you can't fit through the corresponding test opening you can't go on the advanced tour. I tried the smaller test and got stuck at my chest, which left me on the ground threaded through the base of a wood bench as other customer were entering the place. With my family and friends thoroughly enjoying every minute. The teenagers in our group did the interactive 3D game theater and liked it. No one tried the zip line but it looked like it was well engineered.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tours done by cave enthusiasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been to caves where the tours were done by guides who were bored to death. This cave is not one of them. Our guide ("Nick") is a cave enthusiast who explores the cave during his off-time, and his enthusiasm shows. He knows the cave, and how to explain it.
The tour was about 1/4 mile long, with stop points along the way for people who otherwise couldn't make it. The cave remains at 58 degF year-round, so dress accordingly.
There is also a 1/4 mile crawl tour available for those who aren't claustrophobic. (Check for times in advance.)
This attraction works hard to make theirs not "just another tourist trap", and they succeed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauckport, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not just a cave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The cave is very nice and worth seeing! But there is also a zipline that most people would feel comfortable riding and there is a 3-D theatre. Besides gem mining and a great gift shop!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rushmore Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.