We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cool on a hot day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Thunder Gold Mine

Big Thunder Gold Mine
604 Blair Street, Keystone, SD
6056664847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 attractions in Keystone
Type: Mines
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a tour and pan for gold.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and cool on a hot day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to the mine to escape the heat. The mine itself is nice and cool. The tour guide was informative and gave us some good insight into what it was like to be a miner. My kids loved panning for gold the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    62
    32
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was a great tour, very informative and interesting. Tour guide got all the kids involved and they seemed to enjoy that. The panning was fun. Everyone was so helpful so they could br sure everyone was successful at panning. Want to do a land claim next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a great little tour, and we had a blast panning for gold and gemstones. The stores covered more than just the average mine tour, and the story behind this particular mine was interesting in and of itself. The proprietors are great people and genuinely strive to take care of their visitors. We were glad that we gave this place a spot on our itinerary.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Northwestern Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was an informative tour. We had never been within a gold mine before. Our guide was very knowledgeable & answered all of our questions. Takes you back in time & makes you realize how hard these gold miners had it. Eyeopening!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loads of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The whole trip all our son could talk about was panning for gold. We toured the mine (very fun and actually quite informative - our guide was great- memorized everyone in our groups' name) and after panned for gold. You can spend 5 minutes or 5 hours panning. Everyone finds gold!! I think my husband had as much fun panning for gold as our son.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Thunder Gold Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Thunder Gold Mine to your Saves list