We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidential Trail

Presidential Trail
Keystone, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Keystone
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hiking trail at Mount Rushmore.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's nice to take this walk, and is a good way to see Mount Rushmore from different angles. Make sure that you stop by the sculptor's studio also!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    74
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take a walk on the mild side.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The trail allows you to get a bit closer to the monument with good spots to take photographs. I was there on a Saturday about 2 hours before the 9pm show. It was peaceful along the trail, believe it or not, without people everywhere. I must have been lucky with the timing. This is a must do.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This trail is very well planned out and maintained. The information as you proceed along the trail is very informative.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Walk this trail at Mt Rushmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You can get closer to the mountain if you walk this trail. There are some good vantage points to take your photos. It is not a long walk and I think you will enjoy the different angles of viewing the monument.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time to mt rushmore and we loved the trail. My advice if going after 5pm to visit would be to turn around at the mid point of the trail & go back, not much on the back 1/2 & the climb up was steep, You think is easy due to the board walk but the 2nd half was pretty strenuous I thought!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presidential Trail also viewed

 

Been to Presidential Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidential Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.