We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view and nice walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presidential Trail

Presidential Trail
Keystone, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Keystone
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hiking trail at Mount Rushmore.
Modesto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great view and nice walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The trail would get you very close to the monument. However, as it is on the site and brochure, the last half is a little bit tough for people with a stroller (definitely not for wheel chairs, or people with hardship walking). The trail goes up and down with stairs. Thank goodness stairs were broken into clusters. We managed to carry our grandson’s stroller and our daughter carrying her son. Even for her stairs were not friendly at some point. Yes, it definitely is worth going. Audio guide is also available for $5. Otherwise, we get to read or just enjoy the view and outdoor. When we visited, Lakota, Nakota, and Dakota Heritage Village was closed, so we did not get to see. At the end, we saw a sculptor’s studio and demonstration of carving. We enjoyed very much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    71
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Easy to walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had great weather, so it was an extraordinary experience. The path was paved and short, and the display halfway along was interesting. Great photo op.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go left for easy, go right for LOTS of steps.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

As you are facing Mt. Rushmore, the trail to the left is easy compared to the trail on the right. The one on the right has lots of steps. The one on the left is paved and you could take a stroller on that portion. Both meet at the same point.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County,NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Many stairs, but, spots to rest if you needed it. It was a boardwalk, and there were many photo ops. We walked it starting on the left side facing the Presidents. There were reported to be less going "up" stairs...but...not so sure of that. The night lighting was beautiful and very patriotic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Easy trail, lots of info along the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Make this a part of your Mount Rushmore tour and you won't regret it. Though you can't stray off the walking trail, there are a lot of good photo opportunities worth capturing and the trail itself allows you to get many good views of the carvings from underneath as well as of the amphitheatre and museum below.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Presidential Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidential Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.