We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Winter Street, Keystone, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Don't stay here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Parking is almost non existent. We had trouble getting in and out of the parking lot due to over crowding. The chlorine in the pool is so strong it gave me a headache while just watching my husband and granddaughter swim. Our room keys did not work correctly even after we had them reset and, we were refused a $5.00 discount we received from a local merchant because we hadn't presented it when we checked in. I'm not sure how we could have accomplished this since we rented our room as soon as we arrived in town. However, this was the last straw concidering we paid almost double the rate advertised on their sign. This is the first negative review I have ever pinned. I just thought others should be forewarned.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    40
    18
    31
See reviews for
70
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kkw2
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here one night and we were mostly pleased but there were a few issues. We stayed one night in a suite. The room was very clean and very spacious. We had a few concerns. The cholorine from the pool can be smelled the minute you walk into the hotel. We couldn't swim long because it was so powerful, although the pool area is nice. Another isssue was the intense heat in the hallways. The air conditioning was obviously not working here. For the price we paid I was disappointed that no breakfast was included. I would also echo what others have said about the parking lot. What a nightmare. As others have said, the location is great. Right downtown and centraly located to all the Black Hills sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Mones, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

In June 2012 we stayed for 5 nights. We had two rooms because we had our grandsons. We just got back from another 5 night stay this time we had two room because we took our daughter along. Both stays were excellent. The room were very clean and comfortable. Unlike many hotels the balconys were alway kept clean and chairs were furnished. Its really a great place because the little town of Keystone is a great place. Everythiing is so convienent. You don't need you car unless you plan on going some distance. Mt Rushmore is only 3 miles away and if you need a bigger town Rapid City is only 16 miles.
The Greatest part of staying at the Washiington Inn is their Staff. Especially George. Never have I seen any one who works a front desk so friendly and helpful. I watched George leave the front desk to help people park or just get things out of their trunks. George alone deserves 5 stars for friendly and helpful attitude.;...

Room Tip: 2nd floor room 208 or 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Chose this on spec due to the great location, but should have checked the room first. Two queen beds crammed into a space only big enough for one, window was to a rock wall 1' away, and the chlorine smell and humidity from the pool was overpowering. Rooms over the car park would be better. Price was ok, and location great

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on the way to Rushmore. Very nice people, clean room right in town. Could not ask for more. Parking gets tight at night but George at the front desk comes out and makes sure you get a spot. while there go to the red ruby saloon for then gun fight show. Five bucks each. Some old cowboy movie stars perform. Little cheesy but well worth five bucks.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel advertised rooms starting at $49.95 but of course all those rooms were sold out. The next room they had was $79.99. We decided to go ahead and stay here because we thought it looked nice. When we got to our room the carpet was all stained and looked dirty. We also found used kleenex under the bed and hair ties. I would not stay here again there are a lot of other places in the area that I would pick first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

my husband and I stayed here 8/13/12-8/15/12 , where do I start, the bedspread had two big noticable spots that looked like chocolate,but i didnt inspect it closer,fearing it could be some thing worse, the blanket look twenty years old, GROSS,the sheets did not look clean, and toboot they short sheeted the bed, the carpet was filthy, and next to our room was two couples that had a dog, that you could hear barking when they left or came back to their room.The bathroom had hair in it, that wasnt ours, and the back of the bathroom door looked like it had urine on it,also no complimentry shampoo or lotion, just soap, never seen that before,another sign of being cheap was their coffee with the 3 oz. cups. but the parking was a joke, if you werent back by night, you had no place to park your car. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO STAY HERE, WAS THE GROSSEST PLACE IVE EVER STAYED AT, AND IVE STAYED AT ALOT OF PLACES.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Address: 231 Winter Street, Keystone, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Inn And Suites
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.