We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Winter Street, Keystone, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good location - reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location was good and the price was also fair. No breakfast however and very small room. Staff were very friendly however and we had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. They did have coffee and tea in the lobby. Room was clean and beds comfortable. Parking could have been an issue, but we have a handicapped parking. The good thing for us is they had an elevator. Front desk clerk did have a problem with her english, but was very pleasant. I was not offered a suite which I know realize would have given us more room and the ability to cook. Do not eat in the restaurant in front of the hotel. I am sure it will clog my arteries. Also the waitress was so rude. We did not have the buffet, but when my sister ordered oatmean it came with no milk. When we asked for milk, the waitress said get it yourself it is on the buffet. My hashbrowns were soaked with some kind of horrible tasting oil. Needless to say we did not eat there again and would highly recommend you do not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    41
    18
    31
See reviews for
70
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

What an experience! Lots of problems, but the hotel general manager did try to make things right when we checked out. It started at check-in with the front desk staff. This took a long time because the desk clerk’s English was so poor that she could not understand my name, and I couldn’t understand what she was asking. Finally the duty manager took over, but he could not find our reservation. This is the first time we have ever had a problem with a Booking.com reservation. Rather than just give us a room, the desk staff were more concerned about proving to us that it wasn’t their fault by explaining how the hotel’s internal reservation processing system had problems. The manager on duty finally said he would give us a room, but he made it sound like he was doing us a favor even though we had a confirmation in hand! The next problem was in the room, which was one of the suites. Almost every dish or glass that we took out of the cupboard had dried food on it. Overall the room was nice but bring your own shampoo and lotions because all you get is a bar of soap. Then there is the parking; or rather the lack of parking. There are not enough parking places for the number of rooms, so they give guests a paper explaining how to park across the street and down the block. The desk clerk downplayed this saying that it is only if the lot is full, but when we got back to the hotel late that night it was obvious that parking was a major problem. Even the waitress at the deli across the street said she hears complaints all the time. Using the overflow lot is a complex process that requires getting an envelope from the stand, filling out a form on it, putting money in it, taking a slip out of it to put on the dash, and finally putting the envelope in a dropbox. In addition, the parking is only valid until 7 AM, and after that the car will be towed. After parking I had to go back to the car for something forgotten, and when I was walking back to the room I saw an open parking space in the hotel lot. It was clearly marked like all of the other parking spaces (the lot is an odd shape so spaces are laid out in many different directions). I moved the car so I wouldn’t have to get up early after a late night but we got a call from the front desk a 7:15 AM demanding that we move the car. The duty manager said that space should have a sign that it wasn’t a parking space. When I pointed out that the space was clearly marked and there wasn’t a sign, he said he didn’t care and to move the car. Overall, the staff at this hotel has no understanding of customer service and is only interested in their own efficiency. Everywhere we looked there was evidence of cutting corners to save pennies, such as the free coffee in the morning, but in 3 ounce cups! A call to the hotel general manager just before checking out got some satisfaction. He seemed genuinely concerned and adjusted the rate. However, if you have a choice, pick a different hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great place to stay, downtown Keystone, South Dakota. Walking distance to great shopping, many places to eat. Terry and Alicia were great at the front desk, always helpful with any request. Parking is a little snug,but we had no problem. would reccomend this Inn for your stay in Keystone, definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. location is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Like all the reviews for this hotel, the parking is terrible. The front desk was very nice when I checked in. I had a ground floor room #108 right next to the pool. When we entered the very tiny room and opened the curtains we had a rock wall three feet from the window - good thing nobody was claustrophobic. The pool was very noisy but it was expected until 10:00 pm.
I was awake from 11:30 pm until 2:30 am and again at 4:30 am and never went back to sleep. I could hear a person in the next room snoring the entire time. They would wake themselves up once in a while, cough and go back to snoring.
When I went to the front desk to complain at 7:00 am, the worker's response was "oh they must snore really loud." I said I had never stayed in a hotel room where I could hear someone next door snoring and I said I was going to have a long day because I was very tired. He didn't say anything else or apologize. He just turned around and went in a room behind the desk.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went there during our visit to Mount Rushmore. it was indeed at great location, at centre of Keystone with many restaurants and nice shops, with bit of activities going around this area. Rooms are quite small compare to value for room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Located in the middle of Keystone close to shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money. They recommended a family restaurant next door and it was ver good.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Traveled with our 16 yr old daughter and another couple. Checked in Sunday, Sept 4th and checked out Thursday, Sept 8th. We stayed in room 109 ( a suite) and our friends in room 320. They made us pay for the 4 nights at check in.

Our suite was very small, had a small kitchenette with fridge, stove, microwave, no safe.
Beds were hard and sheets very scratchy. Only 2 pillows on each queen size bed. When we first arrived, we were given a pretty stiff rate per night, so walked across the street to check into their rates and found out they were closing for the season the very next night. All other lodging in the town was just as high priced, so went back to Washington Inn and decided we would have no choice but to stay there. They, and everyone else in town, flash on big lighted signs, rooms for $49.95 per night. You cannot find a room in Keystone for that advertised price. Front desk told us, they really don't have rooms for that price, the owners make them advertise the $49.95 just to get people in the door. We ended up paying $119.00 per night, the same as the other couple with us who just had a double room. Strange rate system they have there.

The second night we were there, we arrived back at the hotel around 10:00 at night. Parking was non-existence. People were parking on sidewalks, driveways, anywhere they could put their vehicles. Washington Inn provides parking permits to put in your window, but anyone and everyone can and will park there, including all the employees for the restaurant attached. There was absolutely no place for us to park. There was one Hundai from Illinois parked right over the parking line, taking up two spaces. We went into the lobby to see if they could get the vehicle to move so we could park, but no one was available. We rang the front desk bell, and waited in the lobby for over 45 minutes. We tried calling the hotel from our cell phones and just got a recorded message.

Now, we had stayed there two years ago, and on the third night returning to our room, our key card was deactivated. At that time, the front desk was manned and they re- activated our room key. If our key card had deactivated, we would have been sleeping in the car that night. While we were trying to find someone in the lobby, another guest came down complaining that the internet wi fi was down, and he had been trying to get a staff member for over an hour.

The next day we walked up to The White House Hotel which is owned by the same company to speak with Mr. Sellars, General Manager. We were amazed that there was absolutely no staff on the property. He was quite unsympathetic and really could care less about our situation. Spaces were taken by non guests, employees; and paying guests just have to roll the dice. Add to that the moron who took up 2 parking spaces, not being able to park in the closed down hotel across the street or face fines and towing, you have a parking nightmare.

If you stay there, once you find a parking space, do not move your car. When you come back to the hotel you will not find a parking space.

Room Tip: Rates are very inconsistent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Address: 231 Winter Street, Keystone, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Inn And Suites
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.