We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom smells” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Abington M74

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Abington M74 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Abington M74
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Abington
Abington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bathroom smells”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Room was nice enough, receptionist was pleasant, but the bathroom smells dirty and doesn't look too clean either. Pillow is like a rock. It's gone 4am and I am still yet to get some sleep. Yes it is cheap, but even so I would expect a general level of cleanliness.

I have also never had to pay in full, up front for anything before even seeing the room. Will NOT be staying in a Days Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Sales Manager at Days Inn Abington M74, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback you have left on trip advisor. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Days Inn Abington. We always endeavour to ensure we make our guests visit the best possible. Sadly we seem to have failed on this occasion; we have checked all the bathrooms to make sure they are all cleaned to the high standard we strive to achieve. We are currently changing our pillows to a softer version; however this will take us a little time. Again I apologise for the disappointment you felt during your stay and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
42
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spend 2 nights at the Days Inn in Abington, and for the price found the rooms to be of an acceptable standard, the one thing which let the hotel down, unfortunately, were certain members of staff. The gentleman who was the night receptionist for very rude and unhelpful, and in fact, was apparently trying to fix a door where the key card wasn't working at around 3am on the Sunday morning by repeatedly opening and slamming the door.....not the best preparation for a long day of travel which was ahead.
The cleaners weren't much better - it appeared that the grouting in the bathroom had not been cleaned recently, and despite putting a "do not distrub" sign on the door, was awoken each morning with a knock at around 8am. Indeed, if they hadn't have knocked we would have still heard them with the volume of their conversations in the hallway outside. It is a disappointment to have to leave such a review as the hotel itself and the location were both acceptable, just let down by the quality of some members of the staff team

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Like most Days Inn, the room was fine and clean with a big bed and decent facilities.The hotel is in the services on the M74 and very rural. Added excitement of there being a major drugs bust in the car park of the services that made national news.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions pre and post travelling from Isle of man to Scotland and to break our trip back from the Highlands.It was extremely good value for money and it is worth spending a little bit more for a executive room particularly as it has a fridge which is handy if you don't want to eat the usual motorway services food which is always expensive.Meant we could stop at a M & S and buy lovely salads and deli foods.No problems about parking as the hotel has its own parking spaces for residents.Best to book in advance for a cheap deal but its not expensive anyway and great value for money.

The Room - Very clean with the usual tea and coffee facilities.Very comfy bed with clean sheets with a desk for your lap top the internet access is free just ask at reception how to log on.Yes the TV had limited channels but I enjoyed it after a long drive to relax.Some of the back rooms overlook the fields ours overlooked a grassland area.It was nice and quiet to sleep and we even kept the window open for fresh air.Long nets so no midges!!

Food - you can pay for a continental breakfast to come to your room or pay a llittle bit more for a cooked breakfast at the next door service station restaurant

All in all very good value - plan to stay there next year on our tip to Scotland..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here tired & wet after a long motorbike ride. Reception staff were lovely, rooms good but no communal areas to relax in with friends. And no alcohol anywhere on site!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over on the way to Scotland with two small children. We found the room clean and tidy, staff really helpfull. Two travel cost had been put up for us in the room, which helped enormously. For the price paid it was value for money. I can't fault it.
Also being next to the motorway, we did not hear any traffic noise at all.
The service station next door has food requirements we needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

what a wonderful place to stop over for the night! room was clean and all basic amenities were provided, nice view out the window, good location for visiting edinburgh/glasgow, sheets were nice and crisp, and the beds were comfy. the hot towel rack was a nice touch. the receptionists were friendly and helpful. would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Abington M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Abington M74

Address: Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Abington M74 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly off junction 13 of the M74, Days Inn Abington has free Wi-Fi, free parking and spacious rooms. It is in the Upper Clyde Valley of the Southern Uplands, within easy reach of Glasgow and Edinburgh. All rooms are en suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, a free newspaper and remote-control TV. Most have views of the beautiful countryside. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The adjacent Welcome Break service area has a self-service restaurant, retail outlet and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Abington M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abington m74 Hotel Abington
Abington Days Inn
Days Inn Abington M74 Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Abington M74, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.