We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Inn

The Mill Inn
Coulter, Coulter ML12 6PZ, Scotland
01899 220 950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Coulter
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Paleochora, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A little gem of a place - cosy to visit on a cold winters night with immediately friendly and welcoming staff. Service was speedy and satisfied impatient, hungry kids; menu choice and quality of food for all of us could not be faulted. All together a great dining experience in a lovely atmosphere, somewhere I can happily recommend, and return to!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“like a home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I found this place by deliberately getting lost! Visited on a Sunday afternoon for a spot of lunch and was not disappointed.

Upon entering within we felt comfortable amongst the cosy surroundings. Greeted moments later we were shown to a table which was uncluttered and clean. Staff were pleasant and were relaxed.

Menu had lots of great tasty offerings but we opted for a scotch broth soup for our 19 month child, a steak pie, braised steak chasseur and a venison stew. Desert was clootie dumpling dusted with a hint of cinnamon and custard

All meals were superb, good proper portions and both the steak pie and venison stew actually had proper good quality/quantity meat in it. No scrimping there.

The vegetables served with the stew were cooked to perfection. Al-dente and green beans with a nice crunch and not swimming in butter.

The soup was great. Nice colour and hearty. Full of flavour.

The only point for the chef is that the steak had a bit more fat on it than should have been served with but apart from that all plates went back to kitchen empty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hiddden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Located on a sharp main road bend in the picturesque village of Coulter, this restaurant is easy to drive past. It is worth stopping. There is a big car park at the back, unseen from the road, and the dining experience will be worth it. Friendly, welcoming, professional service supports excellent food and an extensive Whisky Bar - a must for Scotch Malt Whisky enthusiasts, and a great way for novices to learn more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I wanted to eat out on Christmas Day, and The Mill Inn was recommended. I was expecting competent catering, what I got was a dining experience. The ambience is warm and welcoming, the staff friendly and skilled, and judging from the standard of the food and service, they are aiming to pick up a lot of awards. My teenage boys and I were treated like honoured guests. I mentioned that the potatoes were perhaps slightly too al dente and our after dinner drinks were immediately 'on the house'. Their Tomato and Red Pepper soup took soup to a whole new level - i don't think I've ever tasted soup before that I would define as exquisite. The Gressingham duck was cooked perfectly, and the Creme Brulee melted in the mouth.
It was, however, the professional service that made this restaurant experience special. Nothing was too much trouble, everything I said was important, and yet their speed and efficiency was never interrupted.
And they have a Whisky Bar, with an extensive list of whiskies, mainly Scottish Malts, some quite rare, one or two that dreams are made of.
At the moment The Mill Inn has a low profile. No Facebook page and a poor website means that this is still a hidden gem. Once they increase their profile I can see a Michelin star in their future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Gorgeous surroundings and wonderful, wonderful food. An absolute must if visiting this area.

Might be advisable to book, very busy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Inn also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.