We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and huge portions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Inn

The Mill Inn
Coulter, Coulter ML12 6PZ, Scotland
01899 220 950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Coulter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food and huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We took my dad for his birthday to The Mill. No need for a starter in this place as the portions are huge.

The only disappointing thing was that a number of the choices off the menu after them having such a busy day - however is that not a good thing?!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    66
    13
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopping overnight at Abington services on the M74, did not want to eat the usual services food so asked the hotel receptionist where a good meal with a glass of wine could be found, she told us of the Coulter Mill Inn. which was less than a 10 minute drive from the services and very easy to find. As we hadn't booked, and it was Friday evening, we were expecting to have to wait for a table, but as it was about 6.30 when we arrived we were shown to a table immediately. We were made very welcome, and were given some good recommendations on the menu by our table server. We had a really good meal, and a memorable evening. Definitely an unexpected surprise!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I've known about this place for nearly 20 years, always passing it en route to M74/6 and always wondering if it was as good as it looked. Well after an hour and a half drive to get there especially, it did not disappoint!
Fabulous menu, great staff, and very reasonable prices. Menu covers classics as well as some surprising dishes and the specials board is quite extensive. Loved it from start to finish. Don't miss the whiskey bar upstairs, even if it is just for a coffee, it's well worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meals and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had an excellent lunch here served by very friendly and efficient staff in a lovely place. Probably a silly thing to say, if anything, we had too much on our plates but we managed to struggle through it.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wee Gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came across this wonderful restaurant yesterday whilst out shopping. Nipped in on the the off chance of having a quick bite to eat. Despite not haveing made reservations, they found a table for us,
Great ambience and the food was excellent, with a good selection of pub favourites, as well as something to tempt the connosieurs taste buds.

All in all a wee gem set in Scotlands Stunning Countryside, will definately be coming back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Inn also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.