We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going out of your way to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Inn

The Mill Inn
Coulter, Coulter ML12 6PZ, Scotland
01899 220 950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Coulter
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Darvel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Saturday night but no one without reservations turned away. Food was excellent and reasonable prices. Service remained good, even when busy. Well run. Would I go there again? YES.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

So we happened upon this fine Whisky Mill on way through to Edinburgh for Fringe Festival. Upstairs is a Whisky Bar where you can sample and purchase some of the finest whiskies on this earth. Megan Grey was the perfect host and introduced us to some fine rare whisky. On our return journey, leaving Edinburgh, we stopped there again and met with owner, Stewart Barrie and another family member, Fearn Barrie. We had a wonderful lunch, cooked and served to perfection! Stewart was extremely generous with the amount of time he gave to us, to introduce us to more incredible local whisky. ALL of the staff, Fearn, Megan and Julie were kind, thoughtful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food was excellent and we left there, yet again with a feeling of euphoria.
Would recommend this fine eating/whisky establishment to absolutely anyone and everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We called in when passing and had a lovely meal, very laid back and friendly and nice to be able to take the dog into the pub with us

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Scottish finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful setting, really pretty restaurant both on the exterior and interior.
Great food, huge portions, very well presented and fantastic flavours.
Very friendly and happy service from Fearn and Martin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were on our way from Lake District to Edinburgh today and simply had to wait until we had left the motorway before searching for somewhere suitable for lunch. On pain of death would we stop for a bite to eat at a Motorway Service Station for ghastly, badly cooked, poorly presented, overpriced, inedible food. We were only a few miles along on the A702 and came across The Mill Inn.
The car park was full as was the downstairs of the pub ............ Always a Good Sign !

Upon entering, we were approached by the owner, Stewart Barrie, who himself looked well fed ... Another Encouraging Sign.
We had a look a the menu, decided to stay and Stewart personally showed up upstairs to the restaurant and specifically to a large table by the window.
We had eaten breakfast quite late that morning, so decided to order a Homemade Cauliflower Soup and a Smoked Salmon Salad ........ The soup was simply delicious and plentiful although the smoked salmon, whilst also delicious, was rather measure when compared to the soup.
We then decided to supplement the meal with a shared desert Homemade Spiced Plum Crumble and custard ............ Plentiful once again and simply exquisite !
All in all, a Highly Recommended Place to stop, a little expensive on the desserts when compared with the Main Courses, but we sure this can be addressed.
9.1/2 out of 10.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Inn also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.