We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Comrie is on the up and up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comrie Hotel Restaurant

Comrie Hotel Restaurant
Drummond Street, Comrie PH6 2DY, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Comrie
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Phnom Penh
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The Comrie is on the up and up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Locals all said that the Comrie has had a tough past, but that is well behind it if our experience is anything to go by. The host is brilliant and very service oriented, and the interior of the hotel being redone very well. The locals in the bar were great fun and very informative. The food was simply excellent - a very very good velvet pie with beef sourced locally, and locally caught trout. Very good wine selection for a small pub. The Comrie is well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came here completely by chance in desperate need of a drink after a long walk. Our wee boy needed something to eat so we had a look at the menu to see if there was anything suitable. The choice of food on offer and the reasonable prices convinced us to have a 2 course lunch here, the food (especially the black pudding starter) was beautifully presented and very tasty.
The staff were all very friendly, nothing was a problem and we were made to feel very welcome.
Highly recommended, we will return the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big improvement to Hotel building.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited the Comrie Hotel to have lunch and as others have reviewed it has been slowly being transformed by the new owner and now both the front rooms have been renvovated and provide lovely areas for dining. The rear is not so much a lounge but more of a bar with a pool table and darts now provided and outside space with bench type tables is a nice place in fine weather.
The bar is well stocked and the menu varied. The staff are very friendly and efficient at looking after the customers. My dish of fish and chips was a choice based on other reviews and I was not disappointed, however the other dish of battered chicken was poor as the 4 pieces of chicken were large looking until you cut into and found only very small pieces of chicken inside. At over £10 this meal was disappointing and left the diner still hungry.
Be carefull what you order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J T, Owner at Comrie Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we value all feedback.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the refurbishment of the hotel, however I am very concerned that not all your party enjoyed their meal. I wish this had been brought to the attention of the waiting staff at the time as we would certainly have rectified the situation. As can be seen from other reviews people enjoy their dining experience at the Comrie and we pride ourselves on this fact. It always pains me when people only divulge that there has been an aspect that they didn't enjoy when writing a review as then there is nothing that can be done. I can assure you that in 100% of situations we will endeavour to give our customers full satisfaction, that is our main commitment.

I hope that you will come back to our restaurant and I am confident that you will not regret it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A booked table for three expanded to five, phoned through to he hotel, but e need up as six. The staff pushed two tables together and were unflustered. The menu was good and we had various choices, all of which were excellent. The banter with both staff and owner was fun, and the chef came over to check we had enjoyed our meal, which we had.

We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J T, Owner at Comrie Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post them, it is always good to read that people have enjoyed their experience here.

We do pride ourselves on good food and making people feel at home, it isw always a boost for myself and our staff when this is recognised.

Thank you and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently had dinner for two at the Comrie Hotel. The quality of the food was excellent - cooked with expertise and fresh ingredients by an experienced chef. Would say that it easily beats the other establishments in Comrie with its non fussy but very tasty menu and sensible prices. The best haddock and chips I've ever had - bags of flavour, fresh fish and hand cooked chips. The service was faultless. The dining room looks freshly decorated and was certainly very presentable and would benefit in time with a few things to give the walls a bit more character... small point though. Will definitely be back :-) and will recommend the restaurant to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comrie Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Comrie Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comrie Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.