We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely bonkers, totally eccentric and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gourock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Stirling Drive, Gourock PA19 1AH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gourock B&B and Inns
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Completely bonkers, totally eccentric and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What more can I say?

Hogwarts in the middle of a run down council estate. Probably need the battlements to keep the locals out! But for all that, crazy and wonderful, especially if you like gothic/hammer horror!
the guardsroom bedroom is dedicated to it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The castle is kept up very well, very clean. Very nice surroundings. Really comfortable bed, huge room, and very large bathroom all to yourself. Paypal was accepted without problem. Breakfasts were enormous and delicious. Great walking area down to the water. Best bet is getting a cab into Gourock. Go to Cafe Continental to eat! Great food, and Tony is a great waiter-request him!
Also Lady Lydia has her artwork all over the castle, and it's for sale :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Not a typical B&B. A bit like Gryffindor Common Room meets the Weasley Burrows in a corner of the Room of Requirement in Hogwarts at the end of Privet Drive. Cosy, very cluttered, homey castle at the end of a residential street. It was an experience for all of us to remember and talk about.
Be aware that since this is a real castle, the spiral staircase is very narrow and winding. You will need to walk down a few flights from the street to the main entrance. The twin bedded room is on the ground floor but the main bedroom is a few flights up. So is the dining room. If you have any difficulty with climbing, or if you have large suitcases, just understand that there are no shortcuts.
Our hosts were very kind and got up early to serve us breakfast at 6:30 am so that we could arrive at the Glasgow airport before 8 to return our rental car. Jan entertained us with stories of how the castle came to belong to them while Lydia made us all English breakfasts.
I had looked into staying at other castles in Scotland. My son insisted that he would want to stay in a "real" castle, not a more modern hotel that looked like a castle only on the outside. He was pleased with our choice of Castle Levan and I am glad we had the experience for one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the big double room upstairs and my two college aged kids shared the twin bedded room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Caslte Levan. The castle's large upstairs bedroom was clean and nicely decorated. The dining area was cluttered with books and cd's stacked all over, not what I had expected.
I was also surprised to find the castle was amongst other houses in a sub-division rather than in a more secluded area. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke and the moment I walked into the entry door of the castle, I could smell smoke residue and knew someone in the castle was a regular smoker. Lydia should invest in a high quality air purification system. Keep these two things in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Ask to reserve the master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a wonderful experience! My wife and I arrived late and soaking wet after a long motorcycle ride through horrible weather. We were too tired and cold to go back out and get food, so Lydia fixed us a nice dinner even though we hadn't reserved it with the room. The castle itself is everything we wanted. A traditional styled family castle that still has "unfinished" interiors. It's great because you can tell you are in a castle from your room. The hosts were happy to chat at dinner and tell stories about the castle. The bed was nice and comfy, and best of all, THE FLOORS ARE HEATED! Nice toasty feet in the cold weather is wonderful. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celakovice
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Warm and welcoming atmosphere, lovely food and very friendly landlady and landlord. It's a small castle with a lot of privacy and nice view on Holy Loch. Nicely decorated and clean bedrooms with cosy beds and TV. There are also many full bookshelves and beautiful paintings from landlady Lydia. Would you like to know history of the castle? Landlord knows... We enjoyed the whole time spent there. We plan to come back again some day. We absolutely recommend everybody to come and see. Who wouldn't like to spend time on a real castle?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Very cosy en homely castle with friendly landlord/landlady, the fact that we would love to return en stay for more than the one night we did now, should say enough.
If you'r looking for a castle with very thick walls, little hidden alcoves, towers with spiral staircases, a lot of books, a beautiful masterbedroom with the fourposterbed etc etc, than you are at the right place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stirling Drive, Gourock PA19 1AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gourock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castle Levan Bed And Breakfast Gourock, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.