We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the food this time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foxhills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Foxhills to your Saves list
Foxhills
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stonehill Road, Ottershaw KT16 0EL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Shame about the food this time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A group of us spend a weekend at Foxhills each September and have good fun and games - golf, tennis, you name it. This year the weather was so amazing, we didn't even get to use the indoor facilities, but can't complain about that. As usual the rooms in Lyme House didn't disappoint and breakfast was really good. Our big disappointment this year is that the catering staff were so preoccupied with weddings and conferences, etc, that the evening meal in the Manor House restaurant really suffered. The menu was uninteresting and some of the main courses poorly executed. Choice was limited to three dishes, one of which was vegetarian, on the set menu.

Room Tip: Rooms in Lyme House are spacious and well fitted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    95
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
71
110
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked this hotel online even though it was more expensive than others around the area but I had to attend a function and did not want to travel too far after. I arrived at reception to find that they did not have my booking even though I had email confirmation and it took about 15 minutes to reallocate me a room. I was told that the room they had given me was better than the one I was entitled to due to the price I had originally paid and on first impressions the room was nice. The problem was that the shower only ran cold water which was not great and when I mentioned this to reception they said that this was unusual and that the duty manager would be in touch to discuss, this did not happen. After the function I returned to the room but could not get the green light off in the hallway it was like sleeping next to a traffic light. I checked out the next morning and enquired why the duty manager had not made contact and got no response apart from she would look into it. At this point the lady tried to charge me an extra £20 and when I queried this she asked if I was part of some group. I was very surprised at the fact that a hotel with a room costing a £120 without breakfast with a shower without hot water and an online booking system that does not book you a room did not merit even a note from a manager. On the plus side the golf course was fantastic and the girls working at the golf club were brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay here at Foxhills Club & Resort. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we are continually striving to ensure we meet our guest’s expectations.

I was concerned to read your comments in connection with your recent stay and upon investigation was told that the cause of the cold water was due to a fault with the boiler tripping, which sadly had to be repaired during your stay.

With regards to the green light on the fire escape sign, firstly the light itself that you describe is rather minute and is a safety precaution which indicates that the emergency lighting is in fact operational. We were informed that our Duty Manager Alasdair had spoken with you and came to put a sticker over the light; however with regards to the follow-up he might have felt that he had sufficiently addressed the problem and therefore no further action needed to be taken. We will however follow this up with him and will take on your comments and improve the break-down in communication for future visits.

I would very much like to have the opportunity of discussing the issues that you raised, in particular the online booking and would be most grateful if you would contact me at your earliest convenience by calling our Manor Reception.

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not afford you the standards on which we normally pride ourselves and I do hope that you will return so that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kindest Regards,

Jeff Condliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Foxhills for two nights over the August bank holiday weekend. We chose the hotel because it is close to Gatwick airport. The hotel reception staff were welcoming and The hotel grounds were well groomed and incorporated golf courses and a nice warm heated outdoor residents only pool. The restaurants served lovely food and the staff were pleasant and attentive. However we were allocated in room 15 and this was directly next to a fenced off storage area where golf carts and barrels were stored. The noise during the day of staff in this area was loud but it did not effect us as we were out most of the day. However on bank holiday Monday the noise of staff moving golf carts over cobbles, barrels being moved around and staff shouting started at 8am. We were hoping for a relaxing lie-in but the noise was very loud!!! This was then accompanied by the noise of the gardeners using power tools, so by 8.15 we were definitely wide awake and on our way to breakfast to escape the noise. We did inform reception who said they would investigate, but we received no apology or feedback.
We were also found the room layout a bit strange. The room had no bath, only a shower and the sink, shower and separate toilet were located through an open plan archway. This meant that there was no privacy when using the sink as it faced directly into the bedroom area.
The breakfast was of a good standard, with freshly cooked eggs served at your table and a well stocked breakfast buffet.
If you do chose to stay at Foxhills I suggest you ask for a quiet room and definitely not room 15! It was such a shame the noise upset our stay because the main hotel and restaurants were of a good standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Foxhills.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, therefore we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not live up to our expectations.

We are currently in the process of refurbishing and upgrading our rooms in the block you recently stayed in, two rooms of which have already undergone this transformation, furthermore our Foxhills team are also currently addressing the carpet and lighting situation.

We apologise for the shortcomings of the room and will take onboard your comments regarding the disturbance from our staff, we have a job to do and aren’t always aware of the racket we cause. We will address this with our morning staff and will take a look at our operational procedures to improve the experience of our guests.

With Kind Regards,

Jeff Condliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have stayed here before and also had visited for a nice round of golf, but hadnt recognised as exceptional. However, came again yesterday as part of a conference with my company. Pretty much everything worked very well.
Directed to conference room instantly despite arriving 2 hours early, coffee on hand, decent lunch etc. At short notice they arranged for us to have afternoon coffee out on patio rather than in conference room. Was no trouble.
Had bedroom above outdoor pool which was very nice. Actually a bit of a shame was on my own in that room - would happily take my lady there. Also used gym which was well stocked with equipment, mats, weights and was actually very busy.
Had small private dining room but meal good, and waiter accomodated our request to have large plate of cheeses between us and brought a choice which was not on menu for one of our group that could only eat goats cheese. It was done with a smile and quickly. Well done. Attentive service but not OTT. Checked out before 6am next morning and was greeted with smile and easy check out. Only downside is that could not check out breakfast which doesn't start until 7am, but I guess not many people would want to be eating pre 6am!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you Chris for such an in-depth review. We’re pleased to hear that you are a returning client & have experienced Foxhills from both a Conference & Residents perspective. Your comments are greatly appreciated & I will be sure to pass on your review to all the relevant heads of department. We look forward to welcoming you & your guests back to Foxhills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed on a 1 night brake over August bank holiday playing 2 rounds of golf. A huge storm put pay to golf on the Saturday so took to the bar, staff were very helpful and friendly and food was very good. Next day we went to the pro shop to see if we could get both rounds played on the Sunday the staff quickly sorted us a tee time earlier than our original one so were able to get back from the first round with a bit of time to refuel before taking on the the 2nd course. Both courses are fantastic with some really tough holes that stick in the mind, the greens even after the amount of rain that fell on the previous day were very quick and in great nick. Myself and my mates will be definatley returning in the near future and I am sure our gropup will swell in size after hearing us talk about it for the past few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We're very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, making full use of our Championship golf courses. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future & hopefully the weather will be a bit brighter during your next stay with us here at Foxhills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August, impressions good on arrival - plently of well laid out parking, warm welcome at reception in the original manor house and acknowledgement of our anniversary.

We stayed in room 36, right by the pool, which looks out on to the tennis courts - there are french doors to the lawn outside - no problems with noise.

The room itself however felt very out-dated and rather tired. The carpet was covered in marks / stains, and the bathroom whilst clean was missing bits of sealant and grout.

The room itself had all the bits you'd expect, a flat screen TV, nice Elemis toiletries, a comfortable bed, trouser press, iron / ironing board and a couple of bottles of spring water.

New carpet / curtains / headboard and some TLC in the bathroom would make the world of difference.

Throughout our stay (I'll review the Manor restaurant seperately) the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

We had breakfast in the XIX bar / restaurant (there was a large wedding party in the manor house and we wanted a quiet start to the day) great coffee and a nice breakfast selection was available - away from everyone except a few keen / early golfers.

I think with a little research you could secure a much nicer and more modern room as I saw pictures of some lovely looking rooms within the resort whilst we were there, although I was rather disappointed not to get one.

The resort has some great facilties, there are 3 golf courses, a spa, gym and heated pools on site - so plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Kris,

We were sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay here during August 2012 on your wedding anniversary. We have read through your comments and wanted you to rest assured that we have taken all comments onboard and will be distributing them to the relevant heads of department.

In reference to the carpets, there is an ongoing cleaning process taking place throughout the Resort. Unfortunately due to many residents making full use of our golf facilities during their stay, the carpets tend to become worn and marked over a short period of time. Our Foxhills team will be brought in to address the carpet situation, as will the issues in the bathroom.

Unfortunately we have no intention at this moment in time to update the furnishings within the bedrooms as they are reflective of the fact that we are an old fashioned resort, however as we speak I have brought in two designers to work on the interior design for the bedrooms in the near future. Might I be so bold as to suggest that if you prefer a more modern approach to accommodation that you experience our new Lyne House block of rooms or one of our newly refurbished ultra modern Garden Rooms featured in the main courtyard beside The Manor.

On behalf of Foxhills we want to thank you for your feedback and would love to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jeff Condliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We got married at Foxhills in June. We had the most amazing day and cannot speak highly enough about Chris the wedding coordinator. We were very disorganised and left everything to the last minute. Chris was patient, professional and had a great sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Many of our guests stayed overnight and all of them had a great time. It is a stunning venue and we had a perfect day. We would highly recommend this venue for a wedding, special event or simply a chill out break. Thanks to everyone at Foxhills for making our day so very special. We will be back soon. A very special mention to Chris without whom we would still be working out the table plan...... You were fabulous.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and wedding day at Foxhills. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Chris our wedding coordinator and all the relevant departments involved during your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Foxhills in the near future. Best Wishes & Congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills

Address: Stonehill Road, Ottershaw KT16 0EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ottershaw
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxhills 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foxhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Hotel Ottershaw
Foxhills Resort Ottershaw
Foxhills Surrey/Ottershaw, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxhills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.