We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee was very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Save
You added Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse to your Saves list
30204 State Route 706 East, P.O. Box E, Ashford, WA 98304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Coffee was very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We we're dying for a good cup and found these guys; they serve Tully’s espresso coffee. Thank goodness, it was very good. The service was prompt and the place was clean. Everyone in the coffee shop seemed really happy

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kingston, wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I chose this place because of price and location and I really wasn't expecting much. It turned out great! The room was very small but had everything we needed. 2 twin beds, wifi, a shower, good heat and and simple but nice decor. The beds are small so if you are tall or larger in size you may need a queen or double bed. It was so clean, the cleanest motel room I've had in a very long time. The location is very convenient to Mount Rainier and best of all to me they have a fantastic coffee shop and cafe right down the hall from the rooms!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was at the end of the row of rooms so there was no-one on our left side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here before our guided trip up Mt. Rainier. It totally suited our needs and they were very accommodating. We stayed in room 9 - it was very quaint (i.e. two single beds, no TV, clean bathroom, simple accommidations.) Since we were focusing on our upcoming climb, these accommidations suited us perfectly. We needed a few extra pillows and the staff was very quick to fill our request. We really liked that everything in the RMI/Whittaker's complex was within walking distance. There was no loud partying and it was very quiet at night. And as an added bonus, they will keep your car keys at the front desk if you are doing an RMI climb and there is free parking in the back for your car while you are on the mountain. And they have free wifi (since phone service is virtually nonexistent.) If you need a clean and economical place to lay your head and don't need a bunch of bells and whistles, this place is perfect. I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was clean, not fancy but spacious. The upstairs room gave us a beautiful view. Loved the friendly staff and the food in the historic lodge was tasty and priced right. The Mt Ranier Express train is right down the road, along with EZ times horse rentals! I would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We emailed Whittaker's enroute from Whistler for a Friday night stay that their website said was available. We got a confirmation very quickly- less than 2 hours, that we had a room for the night. This was very much appreciated as we wanted to be able to hike on Rainier on Saturday- the weather was promising to be wonderful. We left the hike to the end of our vacation as the weather was very overcast for most of it. We are a family of 4 seasoned hikers and were looking forward to this opportunity. Whittaker's caters to a lot of the more serious mountaineering and hiking folk and it was great to hear them talk about their experiences at breakfast at the bunkhouse. Perfectly adequate accommodations, clean and straight forward. Nicer than some of the same types of places experienced prior to hikes in the boundary waters of Minnesota. The staff were friendly and very helpful and thoughtful of your needs and time.

It's about 35 minutes through the Nisqually entrance to Paradise from the bunkhouse- perfect option if you can't stay in the park at Longmire which we couldn't.

Room Tip: Nice to have the option of two rooms with a bath in between and twin beds for our two tall sons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My spouse and I stayed July 2013 at this moderately priced (for the area) motel located a few miles outside of the southeast entrance to Mt. Rainier NP for our visit there. We found the staff friendly, and the motel a pleasant and convenient place to stay, we would use it again if we were in the area.

Motel location is on main road (Rt. 706), so can hear some vehicle noise in room at times .Pleasant grounds around motel. Office also served as combination coffee/drinks/ice cream/snacks shop. No breakfast provided by the motel. Conveniently, there's also a unisex public restroom located in among the rooms in the same building as the office, we used it before we left the area, along with some others off a small tour bus that stopped for ice cream.

A outdoor camping/climbing/hiking center is located next door, along with a pizza place, but not much services nearby, need to go a few miles west on Rt 706 back to Elbe for more (like for restaurant dinners). There is a combination gas station (not sure if they had gas)/large convenience store that we found useful a short distance west on the main road that has a large variety of stuff, including sandwiches, beer, wine, some groceries, etc. .

The small, simple room had double bed, desk, 2 chairs, and a separate sink/counter areas outside of a small bathroom (an advantage for 2 people). Room was clean, nicely done with some pine paneling, lighting was adequate, no noticeable odors. Walls are thin so can hear people talking outside at times, and also running water noise from other rooms. Free WiFi available, but coverage not reliable, intermittent and slow. Found no coverage for my AT&T cellphone in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strou
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Didn't know what to expect having not stayed in bunkhouse accommodation before!!
Room was clean and cheap for the family room.
No tv, unless you wanted to watch videos.
The staff in the cafe/ reception were great. Really helpful, and pleasant.
Coffee was great.
The tourist office was staffed with a very helpful young lady who told us where to go and what to do to get the best out of our two in the park.
Great scenery and location for the park and children enjoyed the climbing wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse

Address: 30204 State Route 706 East, P.O. Box E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing lodging for all climbers, hikers, skiers or anyone visiting the Mount Rainier area. Whether you are climbing with a Guide Service or Independently, hiking in the Alpine Meadows, or just want a place to relax, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse has been the spot since 1990! The Bunkhouse was built in 1912 to house loggers and mill workers in the Ashford Valley. Renovated in 1990 by Lou and Ingrid Whittaker, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse offers lodging in 18 cozy rooms with private baths, or for those seeking a more Hostel-like environment, the Bunk Room sleeps up to 6 people with shared bathroom and shower. Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse is located in "downtown" Ashford, a tiny community in the Nisqually Valley. Enjoy the rustic charm of a former logging town with a panoramic view of the foothills of the majestic Mount Rainier, all within walking distance of shops, restaurants, post office and a local Pub. Rainier Mountaineering Inc. Is also based next door at the Whittaker Mounaineering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whittaker`s Motel And Historic Bunkhouse Hotel Ashford
Whittakers Bunkhouse Ashford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.