We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's Where You Need to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa to your Saves list
Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa
37515 State Road 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashford B&B and Inns
NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Here's Where You Need to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

In a recent trip to Mt. Rainier, our party of 3 couples decided to spend 2 nights at Alexander's Country Inn. It's an old three story inn. There are no televisions in the rooms or air conditioning but it really didn't matter. We all felt comfortable, like being at your grandmother's house. The breakfast is included and it's a full breakfast, served in their restaurant dining room. The menu items were delicious. For a small fee, they'll prepare a well rounded box lunch for your day on the mountain. Don't hesitate staying at ACI if your traveling through Ashford, Washington.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are pleased that you and your group found Alexander's to be so comfortable. I know from personal experience how uncomfortable travel accommodations can sometimes be! We strive to make each and every guest feel welcome and relaxed. Also glad you enjoyed your breakfast and our Sack Lunches - they are perfect for a day out on the hiking trail!
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    57
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
38
138
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B with one of the best restaurants we have ever been too! After a day at Mt Rainier this was a wonderful place to come and relax! The trout from their pond was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed being able to sit outside by their trout pond before dinner with a glass of wine. Our room was just lovely and the hospitality was five star!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review! We are so happy that you found Alexander's to be above and beyond your expectations!
Penny
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My dad and I stayed here one night. It was like home to me. Very friendly and helpful staff. Older historic property. Loved the atmosphere. No AC, but did not need it. Ate in the restaurant in the Inn. Delicious food. Breakfast was included with room. Breakfast was delicious fresh fruit and a muffin to start with and then we could order anything from the menu. All very good. We were seated by the window overlooking the gardens in front of the inn. We watched the birds and butterflies. Just lovely. There was a pond and patio in the back yard. A very peaceful retreat. No TV's in the rooms, but did not miss it. There was a TV room where you could watch TV if you want. There were several couples watching a Seattle Seahawks game the night we were there. It was fun to watch them cheer for their team. The Inn is very close to Mt. Rainier National Park. No elevators of course, so pack lightly because you have to carry your luggage up stairs to the second floor where the rooms are. We enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Beth, Thank you for sharing your impression of Alexander's with fellow travelers. We are so glad that you liked dining in our restaurant and hope that you took advantage of the bird guide books provided for our guests to use while enjoying their meals.
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this Inn during a trip to Mt. Rainier. Accommodations were very nice. Staff were very helpful. The food was incredible. We ate breakfast each morning at the Inn - and it was fantastic, not to be missed. We were late arriving (faulty GPS!) and when we finally got there, the restaurant was due to close in 5 minutes. We were starving after 12 hours of travel but we were assured that the kitchen wouldn't close until they fed us. We were so grateful! The other guests we met were cordial and we found we had lots in common. Oh and the wine at 5 pm was nice too. We loved that it was so close to the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We find that many of our guests enjoy meeting and sharing their travel stories while relaxing with a glass of wine in our parlor or while taking in the beauty surrounding our Trout pond.
Penny
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the Chalet, which was a short walk to the main house. The master bed in the Chalet was in poor shape, my husband and I had to sleep toward the side of the bed, because it sagged in the middle and we felt/heard the springs. The wireless internet did not work in the chalet, and we had to go to the main house, and often that wireless didn't work either. Lastly, they have a very odd policy regarding staying in the chalet. They required us to take out the garbage and clean up the chalet (other than washing the sheets). Had I known all this, i would not have stayed. My recommendation is to stay down the road in copper creek in or at paradise inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay at Alexander's Chalet.
If I may address some of your comments--
The king bed in the Chalet is new. After reading your comments, I checked the bed and it appears that the mattress had scooted a little bit off the box spring. We corrected that and flipped/rotated the mattress. I apologize if you had less than a comfortable sleep.
Regarding the Wifi connections: We did have problems with the Centurylink/Internet connections and for that I apologize. The Centurylink repair-tech crews made some 12 trips to Alexander's this summer, to fix their equipment. We realize our guests need immediate access to Wi-Fi and we certainly attempt to have the service up and available for all our guests. At this time, it seems safe to say that Centurylink has finally fixed the problems.
Regarding our policies about cleaning before you check-out. The check-list asks guests to load the dishwasher, clean any pots and pans that were used and to remove the garbage --from the house to the outdoor can in the carport. Guests are not expected to do any house cleaning such as running the vacuum, cleaning the bathrooms and/or doing any bed/bath laundry, or remaking the beds or cleaning the stove top/frig, etc. Our policies have been well-received and guests tell us that they appreciate that 1) We do not charge a cleaning fee, 2) We accept single-night stays (even during the summer season) and 3) The daily rates for our vacation rental are reasonable--especially when you factor in the complimentary breakfast.
Again, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The inn is in a 100 year old building so don't expect a sleek, modern lodge. It was, however, very comfortable and roomy. No telephone and tv in our room was a plus for us. The staff was accommodating, holding our luggage as we arrived very early. A full sit down breakfast is included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a group of 11 at Alexander's for our wedding on August 23, 2013. We had a lovely stay at the Forest House and also at the Inn on our wedding night. Everything was first rate and clean as a whistle, and we did not realize that we were going to be so close to the Mt. Ranier National Park. We really needed more time to explore nature in the area.
The food was great and we especially enjoyed the breakfast. The staff is very friendly, and we enjoyed getting to know all of them. It was fun to feed the trout in the pond when we just wanted to relax. We highly recommend Alexander's and we will return there for future anniversaries!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dan--
It was a such a pleasure to host your wedding. My staff and I are so pleased to hear we met your expectations. Hopefully, we'll get to host your one-year anniversary!
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa

Address: 37515 State Road 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA--one-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites. Breakfast, evening wine, hot tub and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is open to the public and features fresh trout, homemade bread and desserts. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Reservations are not necessary. Two vacation rentals. Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.