We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa to your Saves list
Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa
37515 State Road 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashford B&B and Inns
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I were only able to stay one night on 8-4-12. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was incredable and would have cost at least $15 each somewhere else. We had to fill our camelback's for hiking and the staff was very accomidating with getting use ice to fill our packs. Super close to Mt. Ranier park entrance.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want a private in-room bathroom if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    57
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
38
138
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at Alexander's Country Inn. We stayed 2 nights while visiting Mt. Rainier. Could not have been more comfortable. The innkeepers see to it that you have "extras" that you did not expect. the room was cozy and the food in the restaurant was quite good. Loved the breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just a mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, we selected Alexander's from a long list of possibilities because it included a full breakfast and the restaurant on the premises served dinner. A lovely setting, nice grounds, a TV room, library, sitting areas, wine served at 5 PM. The trout pond supplies the restaurant with the most delicious fresh mountain trout, not to be missed.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the road. We got a corner room away from all noice. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impression of Alexander's with TripAdvisor members. We're happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope you can stay with us again.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochran, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here, and found it to be wonderful. Having stayed at other B & B's (no, this one is NOT labeled as one, but...) we found Alexander's to be excellent. We were there mid-week, and it was still quite busy. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable of the surrounding area, and able to provide other points of interest in addition to Mt. Rainier. They will provide a bag lunch upon request (yes it costs, but well worth it). They had quite a breakfast selection, one that should satisfy most everyone. The Inn is an older building, and does have the expected narrower stairways and occasional floor squeaks, but that's part of the charm. If you don't mind the stair climb, take a Queen size room, it's plenty big enough and well outfitted. No, there are no elevators, or fridges in the rooms, but they will provide ice if you need to keep something cold. It's a charming place, quiet, rural, plenty of birds, and black-tailed deer visit the back frequently. Oh yeah, their pond is stocked with trout, which does appear on their evening menu. We found their food to also be quite delicious and well prepared. All in all, a great place to visit, and if we do go back to the Northwest, we will be sure to drop in again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you mind climbing stairs, the queens are on the 3rd floor, accessible from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Alexander's! Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of Alexander's with others.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I like quirky and it is historical with a nice gift shop. I slept well. It is very close to Mt Ranier and that is great. We didn't like the food at the restaurant. A lot of reviews raved about it but we found it all right but pricey. Found the Inn staff very friendly but not the restaurant staff so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I have been here several times over the years, we love to watch the birds, have an excellent meal here or a nosh and glass of wine. Atmosphere is everything, and Alexander's has that nice slow pace about it. The food is always wonderful and the staff is always helpful and friendly.

This is the perfect base camp for those wanting a bit more comfort while exploring the Mt Rainier National Park area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here while exploring some northwest touring sites, and found the hotel to be quite lovely. But details were disappointing. For instance, the facility advertises that it serves wine daily at 5:00 p.m. It does serve wine, but only white. Well, I prefer red wine, which isn't served. We dined at the hotel's restaurant. The dinners were very attractively served, but were quite bland. Same for breakfast the following morning. I would recommend this establishment for its rooms, which were just fine, but absolutely not for its restaurant.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, which was fine. Based on its appearance and cleanliness, I would say that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa

Address: 37515 State Road 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA--one-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites. Breakfast, evening wine, hot tub and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is open to the public and features fresh trout, homemade bread and desserts. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Reservations are not necessary. Two vacation rentals. Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.