We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise completely lives up to the name!! It was Simply Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almost Paradise Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almost Paradise Lodging
Save
You added Almost Paradise Lodging to your Saves list
201 Osborn Rd., Mount Rainier, Ashford, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost Paradise completely lives up to the name!! It was Simply Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I checked into Almost Paradise later in the evening after a long day of driving. The owner greeted us upon our arrival and showed us around our beautiful cabin. We chose the Rainier cabin. She explained everything about the property, the cabin, her awesome dog Dugan and a little about Mt Rainier National Park. We had a very pleasant 4 night stay in the very peaceful and quiet area secluded in the woods just a few miles from the park and not a noisy highway. The private hot tub was amazing after long days of hiking and sightseeing. The fresh coffee beans hit the spot in the morning (as did the hot tub again...). Complimentary breakfast every day was great and full of choices. We grilled most nights on the gas grill provided. We even cooked taco meat on the grill for the first time. The store in Ashford is smaller than larger grocery stores, but likely has everything you would need. If you're looking to get away and relax, this is the place to go. Other places in the area were large and on the main roads without much personal touch to speak of. When you stay at Almost Paradise it is personalized, and you feel as if you're staying as a guest in a friend's home. We truly had an amazing time here. Enough so that we got engaged on the mountain! Another neat touch were the notes and trinkets that other guests left during their stay. You'll see our story if you stay here! We will definitely be back for our anniversary or for our next trip to this area! Coming from Iowa makes for quite the trip but this place is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Once again, a fantastic visit to one of our favorite places to "live" for a few days. We stayed in the Sunrise Guest House, which also has a sauna attached, along with the hot tub. Wandered around Ashford, came back to the hot tub; went out to dinner, came back to the hot tub - can you tell we enjoyed the hot tub.
All of the units here are very private and a selection of breakfast items awaits you, so no worried about what to have - cereal, fruit, juices, pastries, etc. There is always coffee (beans to be ground) and all but the Rainier have kitchens.
No TV, but the office has a full array of DVDs and each unit has a player and a wonderful sound system that can be heard outside in the, you guessed it, hot tub!~
Carol and her family and Dugan, the crazy dog, are a joy to spend time with and she makes each guest feel special.

Room Tip: If you want real privacy, stay at the Woodland, which is off-site; our favorite is Sunrise, which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our Washington vacation this year and loved our accommodations! We stayed in the Paradise guest house which was perfect! The grounds are beautiful and each guest house is very private! Loved our private hot tub. After check-in we only saw Dugan the owners wonderful dog who we played ball with in the afternoon! Our drive to Mt. Rainier was less than 10 minutes which was great! The owner Carol is wonderful and has every necessity in the guest house for comfort. We actually feel asleep one afternoon listening to a Kenny G. CD that was in the house. We cannot say enough about the location, Carol and of course Dugan! Highly recommend Almost Paradise if you are looking for a peaceful, quiet and romantic getaway! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All three guest houses on the property are wonderful! I especially liked the Paradise guest house a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our weekendstay at "almost paradise" was blessed with sunshine and great weather.
We decided for two climbs at Mt. Rainier (the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park is very close to the almost paradise cabins) and loved our returning point and overnight place at almost paradise.
We rented one of the two guesthouses: including hot tub in the garden, great kitchenette, fireplace, supersoft bed and very nice bathroom. The owner`s dog was often ready for a game of fetch and we enjoyed just being outside the guesthouse in the garden.
I recommend almost paradise cabins for your stay close to Mt. Rainier! The place to be :) Thanks!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at Almost Paradise while doing a training course at Mt Rainier. It was terrific to crawl in the hot tub after a strenuous day at the mountain. The cooking facilities were excellent and there is ready access to all that the Park has to offer. Plus, you are treated like family from the time you get there. I am going back with my wife in August. (There is just one queen size bed so if you go with a friend someone will be sleeping on the couch, which worked great for us.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Off the map of our GPS and Google Earth, naturally, for this is almost paradise, where mortals are allowed to stand and strain to hear another human voice. The cabin is 60 yards from the house facing the wood, equipped with a hot tub and BBQ, giving one the solitude and the tranquility of the old woods with the luxuries of today. It is within 10 miles of Longmire Inn within Mt Rainier National Park and just 2 miles from a well-equipped Ashford. We went in to the Park each day ($15 for a 7-day pass), visiting Sunrise and Paradise, the Grove of the Patriarchs and many falls along the way. We snapped Mt Rainier cloud-free in the mirror of Reflection Lake and marvelled at the flowers. It was truly Almost Paradise

Room Tip: Self-catering is availabel in one lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vritts@stlcc.edu
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We originally book at the Paradise Lodge in the NP. After reading about Almost Paradise, I'm glad that we cancelled. Almost Paradise is paradise! What an exceptional find. We spent four days in the Ranier cabin and it was perfect for us. We hiked all day, grilled in the evening, played with Dugan the cabin greeter, and relaxed in the hot tub. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almost Paradise Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almost Paradise Lodging

Address: 201 Osborn Rd., Mount Rainier, Ashford, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Almost Paradise Lodging Hotel Ashford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almost Paradise Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.