We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cabin - Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Creek Lodge
Save
You added Stone Creek Lodge to your Saves list
38624 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Cabin - Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here recently on a trip to the Mt. Rainier area. Stone Creek Lodge is located within a stones throw from the main Nisqually gate of the park. Our cabin was one of the "Garden" cabins and was quite cozy. It offered a single bedroom with a queen bed, a full bath with tub/shower as well as the main room with kitchenette, gas fireplace / stove and day bed which could be made into another full sized bed.

Parking was right outside and the grounds were well maintained and comfortable. Sandy, the proprietor was friendly and helpful, providing plenty of local information about where to eat, where to go, etc. Prices were reasonable, especially considering it was the peak of tourist and wildflower season on the mountain!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is nothing not to like about these cabins. Stayed in one of the mountain cabins. the cabins were super cute and cozy. Added bonus was having a mini fridge and basic utensils and bowls/plates, so at the very least we could have cereal and sandwiches in the room. The hot tub was a nice touch after a long day on the mountain. Didn't get to do the campfire - apparently there was only one or two other guests the nights we were staying, but the place was full the night before and after we were there.

Room Tip: Mountain cabins have the hot tub. Other cabins don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in a garden cabin with our 2 kids. The cabins were super cozy and clean. We made smores by the campfire in the middle of the property one night and it was fun to meet families from all around the country. The cabins just have a small fridge and microwave with plates, bowls and utensils so you can't really make a real meal besides light breakfast. You can grill right over the fire if you ask.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We celebrated my husband's 76th birthday by spending a night at Stone Creek Lodge in July. Sandy, the owner, was a gracious, friendly hostess. We initially made reservations for the smallest unit, without a hot tub, but decided to upgrade, if there was one available when we arrived. Happily, a cabin with a shared hot tub was available, and we enjoyed lounging in the warmth with the water jets after spending the day on the Mountain. The other cabin was vacan that night, so we had the hot tub all to ourselves. The cabin was cozy, with a bathroom and shower, a queen sized bed, a desk, and a sofa. A small refrigerator and coffee maker were very adequate for our needs. We ate dinner at Copper Creek Inn a mile or so down the road towards Ashford.

Sandy builds a nice bonfire in the evening for the guests to enjoy together. Some like to roast marshmallows.

The surroundings are very quiet. The resident cat came by several times to say hello. The forest is all around you, though the cabins face an open grassy area with a fire pit in the center.

The facilities are nicely kept. The location is perfect after a day on the mountain. We were a bit surprised to find so much snow on the mountain in early July, but no difficulty getting around, just didn't get to go on a wildflower walk up behind Paradise Inn. Walking to see falls, and sights of interest along the road were no problem. No snow there.

I would highly recommend Stone Creek Lodge for friendliness, cleanliness, location, price, and the "cabin" experience at Mt. Rainier....plus a friendly hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend and discovered a great little oasis at Mt. Rainier. There were not any surprises when we arrived at Stone Creek Lodge because the website showed the property and accomodations exactly as they are....without using any fluff.

The location cannot be beat unless you want to pay twice as much for accomodations that are actually in the park. You can literally see the entrance to the park from the Stone Creek driveway. If a quiet and comfortable stay is what you are looking for, then this IS the place. The amount of interaction with other guests or the host (Sandy) is entirely up to you. You can be social or you can keep to yourself.

As one of the other reviews stated: 'One of the best night's sleep ever!'

** Do not give much credence to the review from 'drewdavis85' of Oxford, Ohio. Clearly his comments DO NOT represent everyone else's experience. I find his comments to be very embellishing when compared to our personal experience and the experience that all of our neighboring guests had during our stay. Sandy is not the type of person described in his post.

Enjoy your worry-free stay at Stonecreek while taking in all of the beauty that Mt. Rainier has to offer.

Room Tip: A couple of the cabins do not have a microwave yet so be sure to request one if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Just visited after reading many of the positive reviews on trip advisor. All were correct. Sandy is an excellent host. When we got there we noticed our little fridge was not working. We discussed at the fire that evening and when we came back from the mountain the next day she was waiting to replace the bad one. (not as easy a replacement when your in the sticks)

Room was very comfortable and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and would recommend. Easy walking distance to a couple of the best restaurants in the area.

Stanley, the cat, has a run of the community. Very friendly. But if your allergic, that would be the only drawback.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I and our 5 yrs old son stayed here on our recent trip to Mt. Rainier. We had booked it at the very last minute but the owner/manager was so kind and gracious enough to take us in and allowed us to reserve a Garden Cabin for the weekend. We both have very busy lives being in the Army and working for the Army and so taking the weekend away with our son was a huge break! When we arrived, we were expecting the olden days of living in the wild and being one with nature, but here at Stone Creek Lodge, we were extremely impressed to find that we were as close and as one with nature but yet we were very much comforted with the homely feel of the cabin and it's modern interior comforts. The cabin settings and feel was very quaint, relaxing, and comforting, & most of all very clean & neat (it shows the care the owner/manager has put into it to make their guests feel at home). The best part was, we were very close to the National Park's entrance and many different family owned diners/restaurants. Stone Creek Lodge was a great choice by my husband, and I would highly recommend this place to anyone who's looking to get away from home to see the mountain and it's natural beauties but still appreciate their homely amenities and comfort. This experience has been great and I would come back in a heart beat, it has brought our little family closer and surely made us appreciate life more, and learn to slow down a bit and just sit back and enjoy the basic comforts!

Room Tip: Choose the Garden Cabin(s) for familty trip or a group of friends because it offers a sleeping space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Creek Lodge

Address: 38624 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 yards outside of the Nisqually (Paradise) entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, Stone Creek Lodge offers natural cedar cabins with vaulted ceilings, picture windows, private baths, gas fireplaces, and comfy queen beds to mountain guests who are searching for a clean, quiet, cozy retreat in a garden setting tucked against towering cedar and fir trees. Five Garden Cabins with kitchenettes accommodate small families with children; four Mountain Cabins with hot-tubs sleep two adult guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.