We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainier Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainier Valley Inn
31811 State Route 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304 (Formerly Rainier Overland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Ashford
San Antonio,TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a day trip to Mt. Rainier and decided to stay at The Rainier Overland. Convenient location as it is only 5 miles to the entrance of the Park. Room was basic, clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. No frills, but if you need a quiet , convenient place to stay for a day or two, the Overland would suffice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

On arrival we were given a key to the first cabin. We went in and saw that it hadn't been cleaned from the night before. Went back to the office where they gave us a key to a different cabin, right next to a wooden fence. On the other side of the fence was the trailer where the family owning the property lives. They were nice enough to move their car out of our gravel space once they saw us there. The cabin was very basic which we anticipated (no phone, no t.v., no alarm clock). The pro's include pet friendly, and excellent water pressure in the shower, coffee maker. Con's include spider webs in the curtains, no coffee filters in the room, sheets coming off the bed once it is occupied, and horrible back pain in the morning. Also our dog was freaked out all night possibly due to the base board heat coming on and making quiet clicking noises. Either way it made for a horrible nights sleep. The breakfast at the cafe in the morning was good. (Not included) The waitress was super nice and they had wifi at the cafe. Espresso machine was not working.

Room Tip: Maybe get one of the rooms in the motel section? I don't know if that is any more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My (adult) daughter and I stayed for one night at the Overland on the first night of our 11-day adventure exploring the Great Pacific Northwest.

Initially, we were somewhat concerned to learn that there were none of the usual chain Hotels/Motels to be found in close proximity to the entrance to Mt. Rainier Park; we both travel often and are somewhat picky about our lodging. But, since we wanted to get a very early start on the mountain, we decided we'd rather stay at one of the lodges close-in, rather than one of the chains, further out.

We honestly couldn't have been happier with our choice!

While the Overland is an older lodge, Its setting at the base of Mt. Rainier and its rustic architecture provide for a very charming establishment. While there were no frills, our room was very clean and well cared for. We also found our room to be very well insulated. Although, when outside, I could hear the guest in the next room coughing, once inside we didn't hear a thing.... not even the occasional traffic that passed on the roadway just outside our door.

Best of all, our beds were very comfortable! I don't say that lightly, as I have a bad back and am quite often uncomfortable, waking up in more pain than usual, when I sleep in a strange bed. Not here! Our beds were very comfortable and I slept like a baby!

We were also delighted to find the on-site restaurant was very good. While the menu isn't extensive, it has a good selection. We enjoyed dinner, just after checking in, and breakfast the next morning. And, when asked, they were kind enough to put together a sack-lunch (sandwiches, fruit, etc.) to take with us on our tour of the mountain.

The Overland is family owned and operated and all are very friendly and personable.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our one-night stay. Rustic, charming, very clean and comfortable, exceptional location... I would definitely recommend this lodge to family and friends. In fact, we look forward to returning to Mt. Rainier next summer and have every intention of staying at the Overland, when we do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I just got off the phone with the owner, Sandy, after I made a reservation to stay in her place for one night in July. She was super friendly, open and generous with her advise and flexibility in terms of cancellation policy. Our family prefers to camp in the area, but if we find no good place or the weather is poor, I would like to have a back-up plan. Sandy offered excellent suggestions and made me even more excited about travelling to the area.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

So lets be frank shall we? When we arrived we had a little trepidation. The outside of the Motel is fairly basic and not modern in any sense. But we had pre-payed so decided after a long day of travel we would give it a go. The rooms were simple but CLEAN. The beds (perhaps it was my exhaustion) were very comfortable (even my 9 yr old remarked at how comfortable he thought the sheets were) -- not your traditional crisp white hotel sheets rather these were the comfort and style you might put on your bed at home. The rooms furniture was very simple but it had everything we needed for a quick one night stay. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and made us feel very welcome. In fact there was no cell signal in the area and we needed to make a call back home, the front desk person allowed us complimentary use of their phone as long as when they needed to run a credit card we would get off. Worked great and it was much appreciated! We opted not to have dinner there as we saw no diners at that time.... we went out to a local restaurant which was fine, but upon return found their restaurant very busy and the guests seemed happy. One of the reasons we selected the Overland was because of it's proximity to Rainier and also because they began breakfast at 6am. We were coming off of East Coast time with two young kids and knew we would be getting an early start to our day. The breakfast was very tasty and service friendly. My rating of overall 3 stars does not reflect the attitude which we experienced, which would have been 4-5 -- it simply rates this as a budget minded option for those looking to stay close to Rainier. Overall a great stop and helped us manage our overall accomodations budget for our 2 week WA adventure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our room was in the "motel style" row of 8 rooms. The room was large, with a king size bed. Simple style decor - older furniture, quilt on the bed. Staff was very nice. Its main attraction for us was that it's only about a 5 minute drive to the Mt. Rainier National Park entrance. You will have to pre-pay for your reservation. Keep in mind this is a basic hotel - no TV, no internet, no phone, no shampoo, no hairdryer (maybe available at the front desk?). There is a coffeemaker with coffee and tea provided and there's a restaurant, although we didn't eat there. A drive down the road and it looks like this is similar to other lodging choices in the area - no chains or large hotels. It's clean and it gave us a place to sleep close to the park, which is all we really needed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette County, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed there with some working colleagues because we were working in the park for about 3 weeks. The owner and all the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The food in the restaraunt was excellent. The atmosphere was also very comforting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainier Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainier Valley Inn

Address: 31811 State Route 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304 (Formerly Rainier Overland)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainier Valley Inn is Close, Clean, and Comfortable.You will find us 5 miles from The South West Entrance to the Park.We will direct you to the many great restaurants you can find within 3 miles of our Inn. WiFi Access is available in our lobby area, inside,and out.Our rooms range from a modest 2 twin bed "Hiker's" room, to our basic room that each have 2 queen beds, a room with a King bed, all found on our boardwalk. We also have the historic Homestead room, complete with a Rustic sitting porch, and local Antiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainier Overland Hotel Ashford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainier Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainier Valley Inn to your Saves list