We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best place we have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier
37311 SR 706 East, P.O. Box 126, Ashford, WA 98304   |  
Hotel amenities
Kinzers, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the best place we have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in the Wolf Cabin at the end of a 3 week camping trip. This place lived up to our every epecation. The decor was awesome. The bed was awesome, I loved, loved the shower. Will come back again any time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose the Wolf Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stormking was an incredible place for my girlfriend and me. The experience was much more than what was expected. The quiet, comfortable setting is exactly what we needed to disconnect and melt our stress away. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying near Mt. Rainier. We stayed in the Heron and the shower was to die for. Five shower heads felt so very blissful. The spa package was also worth every penny. The owner was completely helpful and very welcoming. We both were sad to leave and wish we could live there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stormking was one of the places I was most looking forward to staying at on our trip around Oregon and Washington, but we were actually pretty disappointed.

There were definitely good points. The location is very convenient for Mt Rainier – one of the closest places to the mountain along the main road into the park, but set back enough from the road that it’s really quiet. The cabin was a great size for the two of us, in a pretty setting by a little pond (you can't see any other cabins from it, but they are all fairly close together), and if there’s a path that takes you, in 30 seconds, to a pretty view down over a babbling brook surrounded by trees. The TV is very cleverly linked up to a central hard drive of hundreds of movies, broken down by genre – the system is easy to use and it’s great to have access to so much entertainment.

However, for us there were more bad points than good. We stayed in plenty of places in the US that felt both welcoming – which to me means thinking about and meeting guests' needs – and really stylish and classy. Stormking didn’t really work on either front for me. The furnishings seemed mismatched, and where there was style, it was often at the expense of substance – for instance, the multi-headed shower looked impressive, but the water pressure was poor, so it was less nice to use than a normal shower. The toilet has no door and the wall separating it from the bed doesn’t reach the ceiling, so, to be brutal, noises and smells can circulate freely, and if you need to turn the light on in the middle of the night, light floods the whole space. There’s a roof light which was both really dirty (so no star-gaving), and had no blind or covering, so we were woken up at dawn. Breakfast is provided, but it’s poor – things like plastic-packed, long-life muffins (and I can’t remember what else, since we didn’t eat it!).

Stormking was one of the most expensive places we stayed at on our trip, and yet, I'm afraid, one of the least nice. We didn't complain, because all this feedback is really totally personal, and I don't complain unless there's something concrete to complain about - but I did think it would be worth letting fellow TAers know a different perspective on the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I spent our two year wedding anniversary up at Stormking by Mount Rainier and it was just perfect. From the friendliness of the owners, serenity of your surroundings, rustic elegance of the unique Yurts, relaxation of the superb spa service, nearby country cooking with the best copper toppers at Copper Creek Inn, and the endless wonder of the Mount Rainier National park. There is no reason someone should not share this experience. We are grateful for our time together at Stormking Spa! We only hope this can be an annual vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you can call a log cabin/yurt luxurious - this is the one. I found Stormking and their unique yurts somehow on the internet searching near Mt. Rainier. We are SO HAPPY we found them. The owners - Deborah and Steve were wonderful. Left you alone for privacy but always available if you needed them.

Our yurt had a walk in shower, king bed, fireplace, sky light, satellite movies (which we only searched one night) and an outdoor hot tub.

On our first morning we stepped outside to 4 deer grazing outside the yurt. Since the owners equiped the cabin with "Deer Treats" I thought I would attempt to feed the deer. One walked right up to me and took the treat from my open palm ever so gently. I assumed they would be back each day but we never saw them again.

We scheduled his and hers hot stone massages for our last day and not only were they much needed after our Mt. Raineir hiking, but they were awesome. Didn't have terribly high expectations but turned out to be the very best hot stone massage I ever had. And it all started with a half hour soak in a hot tub outside overlooking a brook.

Loved the property and only wish it wasn't so far away from Naples, FL. Don't miss this one!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Their newest addition, the Bear Cabin, was our stay. Excellence and attention to detail are an understatement. One mile to Mt Rainier entrance, and a private hot tub on our deck after a long day of hiking. Deborah and Steve have certainly put together an oasis..you want for nothing and even the deer show up right on cue. Sleeping in is not an option with the 5' skylight over the bed but the stars at night were awesome and with so much to enjoy nearby who would want to sleep in. I wouldn't change a thing....

Room Tip: Each of the cabins have their own theme, each are different but all are private and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Wolf Cabin for several nights. It far exceeded anything we could have imagined. Complete solitude, private hot tub, deer coming up to back deck. Cabin was perfect for two people who love peace and quiet and a good soak after long hikes on Mt. Rainier. Just a few minutes from entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. Need I go on? The interior and exterior designs were thoughtfully done and very functional. Owners have put alot of effort into providing a quality experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: Can't beat Wolf, but others looked good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier

Address: 37311 SR 706 East, P.O. Box 126, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe cabins each with private hot tub for couples only. The perfect place for honeymoon, anniversary or romantic escape. Spa facility offers couples spa packages for two. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stormking Spa At Mt. Rainier Hotel Ashford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stormking Spa at Mt. Rainier to your Saves list