We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining in Lovely Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Moat House to your Saves list
The Moat House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell ST170RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Lovely Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to the Moat House for Sunday lunch to celebrate my birthday, and as usual we were not dissapointed.
The staff are excellent very attentive and well trained, the food is exceptional for the area,
The restaurant is quite large with a conservatory feel to one part and a beamed ceiling to the other side of the restaurant..
When we had finished our meal we took coffee by the lake outside of the half timbered potion of the building..
The hotel and restaurant is in beautiful surroundings in a quiet Staffordshire village

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    81
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
86
136
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

came across this place by accident, WOW what a stunning place, we went in for a coffee and was blown away by the place, we will be returning again, OFTEN.
The food is very reasonably priced for such a regal building, cant wait to go back, we intend booking a meal here in the very near future, gorgeous place, and the owner even stops to say hello ........ top class

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely Hotel, with a friendly helpful receptionist. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished.
We had a bar meal as we arrived at 8.30 and the restaurant was closed, however the meal was excellent and good value....Breakfast in the orangery was lovely....well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stooped at the Moat House Hotel for our 7th Anniversary and once again was not disappointed. The room was clean and the evening meal for me and my husband and guest was fantastic. They were so thoughtful and very polite and all the staff made our evening so pleasurable. Breakfast next day was fantastic and we stopped for afternoon tea as well. the whole experience with the Moat House Hotel made our 7th Anniversary so special. Thanks again to all the Hotel Staff and bar staff and most of all the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: We always stay in room 130 a little bit more money but worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We discovered this hotel when travelling to Liverpool and needed a half way hotel. 10 years later we are still visiting the restaurant as the dining experience is always excellent but not too expensive. Visited again last weeekend, the service was still friendly, welcoming and first class, love it when they brush and collect the crumbs carefully off the table when you have finished eating your bread and the next course is due, this attention to detail makes you the dining experience feel special. The food was delicious, beautifully presented, some served on black slate, I am fussy with food but will always try differant foods at this restaurant as I trust them, never had a bad dish. Have tried their 'Tasting Menu', 'Dinner' and 'A La Carte' and never been disappointed and will certainly keep going back. A lovely fine dining experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I could not have imagined a better day anywhere than the day my husband and I had with The Moat House for our wedding this month. From our initial meeting with the wedding co-ordinator Gaynor, through to check-out on the morning after our wedding, everything went superbly. They even organised THE most gorgeous September sunshine for us! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff involved in the wedding, giving you the feeling that 'your' wedding was THE most special one of the year! We did not have to worry about a thing as there was always someone on hand to answer any questions and allay any fears. The food for the wedding breakfast was superb. Each guest without exception commented on the quality with some even saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding! We cannot thank the team at the Moathouse enough for what they did for us...you will not be sorry if you chose the Moathouse for your most special of days!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My daughter & now son in law held their wedding & reception at this marvellous place.Planning took place over a year after a wedding fair,held at the moat house. We booked a room for two nights which was clean,comfortable,fluffy white towels, an array of toiletries,tea coffee & biscuits, an iron & ironing board, tv etc. We had a superb breakfast on the day of the wedding cereals, toast, fruit, full English all beautifully cooked & presented with impeccable service.The wedding planner did the most fantastic job incorporating the bride & grooms ideas into their day. whilst having hair & makeup done in the brides room a bottle of champagne & glasses was delivered by a young male member of staff who attached my collage to my jacket for me before leaving{little touches}.The wedding went like a dream,the room for the wedding breakfast looked amazing,The three course meal was perfect all served by polite, well organised, professional staff.The room was cleared a dance floor laid & the evening was every bit as well planned as the day had been, excellent buffet, disco, etc.Everyone of the staff who contributed to that wonderful day should take a bow you are all a credit to your employers, a wedding without a single hitch, leaving the happy couple & their guests with memories of a happy & most joyful day on the 28 august 2013,even the weather was perfect.

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite is marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell ST170RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell
The Moat House Acton Trussell, UK - Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.