We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moat House

Save Saved
You added The Moat House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moat House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell ST170RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Acton Trussell
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked the Colin Lewis suite for our parents ruby wedding anniversary and the room was decorated beautifully and was very classy. The food and service was excellant and everyone in the party enjoyed the afternoon. We travelled from Shrewsbury and found it easy to find. It was a very memorable and perfect day and definitely worth the journay. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    63
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
111
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Only went for lunch, did not stay so my comments only relate to the restaurant not the hotel. Good points: pleasant attentive staff, nice surroundings.
Not so good: all looked good until we sat down, the long tablecloth hid dust and crumbs on the floor. We were early at 12 midday so must have been from breakfast or worse the night before.
The food: the soup other people in our party had was described as excellent, well presented and tasted very good. The flakes of Loch Duart salmon tart (salmon and broccoli quich by another name) was tasty but the pastry was 'hard'. The Salmon main course was over cooked as was the duck breast. The person taking the order was at pains to point out that the duck was served pink but sadly it was not though it was nicely presented The butternut squash pithiver looked more like a round pasty and lacked flavour. It was not appropriate to make comment at the time as we were treating a guest to lunch but when the chocolate and hazelnut torte arrived it was so heavy that even our guest and I sent it back and exchanged it for a poached pear tarte which was much better.
This set menu 3 course meal was thirty pounds per head which does not appear bad value and had the food been of a higher standard then it would have been reasonable. However we have just had a four course set menu lunch at Parnell's in Birmingham for £30 per head and it was exceptional without fault. So in our opinion the Moathouse is a nice place with pleasant staff, let down by the kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My father recently had his 80th birthday and unfortunately I could not make it back from Vancouver to be with him. As he loves the food at the Moat House we had the idea of asking them to deliver lunch to his house (which is luckily in Acton Trussell) Everyone that I spoke to when coordinating and setting up the meal was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help.

I just got off the phone to my parents and they said that the food was delicious and that everyone made them feel extremely special, the Moat House staff went out of their way to ensure that my parents enjoyed the food. They had no reason to go out of their way to help us, it is wonderful that they made all of the effort that they did. I cannot thank them enough, their actions made my my father's birthday even more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned form celebrating a joint 90th birthday celebration for twins at this attractive venue.
The staff were all wonderful - friendly, polite, helpful and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent - whatever was chosen form the menu was beautifully presented and tasted lovely. Very good value for money too.
Well done to all the staff and management. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Yesterday we held our Annual Conference at the Moathouse and it is impossible to fault a single thing. The service, refreshments, evening food and hospitality was without fault. In an age when mediocrity is the norm, this establishment raises the bar and is exactly what others should strive for. Well done to all management and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

By coincidence we have been to the Moat House for an early dinner the last 2 Sundays and find it excellent. The food is delicious and flavoursome served very professionally by very pleasant young people at very affordable prices in an attractive room. They offer a wide range of wines by the glass in various sizes which helps everyone to have what they want. The portions are not huge but have not left us wanting. This leaves us the day free but gets us home by 9.00ish on a Sunday evening - perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I decided to pay a little more and stay one night at the Moat House instead one of the national chains as i had business in Stafford the next day. It was worth every penny, the room was very modern and clean with everything you need. The road to the hotel is a little tight but there is plenty of parking once there. Check-in was straight forward and i decided to eat in the bar that evening. The food was okay but i found the "local pub" feel which was sort of attached to the hotel didnt really work for me. The breakfast was excellent and the customer service was also very attentive, so top marks for that. I would certainly stay here again and the hotel certainly deserves its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell ST170RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Acton Trussell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell
The Moat House Acton Trussell, UK - Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.