We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Valentine's Day meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyncombe Drive | Churchill, Churchill BS25 5PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Churchill
Banwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's Day meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Despite having lived up for road a mile or two for 15 years, last night was my first visit to the restaurant although I had heard good comments about it.
We booked in for the St Valentine's Day meal and were given a warm greeting by the attentive staff. We enjoyed a glass of wine while we awaited our table and studied the choices on the three course menu.
We had a nice table and also liked the fact that the resident pianist sat playing enjoying tunes at the grand piano. The service was just right, very attentive, but relaxing. We liked our food very much, my duck starter was a tad on the small side, but tasty. Our mains of medalions of beef were lovely and filling. We decided that we couldn't manage a desert, but shared a cheese course.
The only slightly annoying thing was that at one end of the restaurant was a large round table of about 12 people celebrating one couples anniversary. Fine for them, but rather noisy for those of us couples wanting a quiet romantic night. Do wish restaurants would stick to couples or foursomes on the night itself, but that is just a personal view.
Will definitely go back for an evening meal or Sunday lunch.

Room Tip: Didn't have a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to tell others about your experience with us. It is always great to get feedback from people, especially the local customers.

We very much hope that you will come and join us again soon as we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    44
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
111
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here recently as part of a KGB deal, we are already planning our return. We stayed for 2 nights B&B which also included dinner on an evening of our choice. We chose Saturday evening as we had read that the restaurant closes Sunday evening but at breakfast we were asked if we'd wanted an evening meal on Sunday as they would ask Chef to return. As we'd already made plans to visit family we declined their kind offer but we were impressed all the same.

The evening meal was sumptuous. My husband had the steak with triple dipped chips and I chose the lamb rump both were very flavoursome with excellent presentation as was every course we ate. We helped whoever was washing the dishes by devouring everything on our plates. It's obvious the Chef loves his job as his creativity is evident with the ingredients that he uses.

Our room was a Woodland chalet as we had brought our dog too. It's an ideal setting as there is a Wiidland walk literally on the doorstep. The room itself was nice and cosy with all the amenities (toiletries, tea making facilities and biscuits..)

Every member of staff that we came into contact with during our stay were very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always willing to help.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Lyncombe Lodge to anyone. Whether you are looking for a peaceful, active or a restful stay. It has it all with its great location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us and that is great to hear. I will pass on all of your lovely comments to the staff. They will be delighted to hear your kind words.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked the 2night stay for my Husbands Birthday and because we were able to take our dogs. We were made to feel very welcome, the room/chalet was comfortable and tidy and lovely and warm, although I wish I had remembered my own pillow. The shower needs updating as the pressure is low but hot water on the plus side.
Our breakfasts both mornings were hot and fresh and the dinner on Saturday evening was of a very high standard and presentation excellent. Your house Red is fabulous.
Staff were all attentive and happy to help. We would happily visit again as a weekend retreat and love that we can visit the beach so easily. Look forward to visiting again soon missed breakfast this morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We decided to book this deal after reading the previous positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed, we enjoyed our break and would definately return. In a nutshell........

Room - on the positive side it was large and warm with plenty of drawer/wardrobe space, comfy bed and great view from the window. The decor was reminiscent of a mobile home bedroom but we understand that it is due to be redecorated soon. Shame about the pillows (slight smell to them). The walls were fairly thin but there was no exterior noise to keep us awake. The bathroom was clean on arrival but unfortunately it was not touched when the room was turned down during the day ie towels not folded and sink and bath not cleaned.

Food - We had one meal included in our deal and it was so tasty and well presented we decided to eat there the second night. We were so full we couldn't make it to the dessert menu! It's a shame the breakfast wasn't as good as dinner - the help yourself section was disappointing and yoghurt and fruit was not replenished for guests arriving for a later breakfast.

Staff - excellent, friendly and helpful they really made us feel at home we could not fault them. Service was attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Overall a very pleasant experience, We hope that any negative comments we have made can be seen as constructive criticism.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a good view but it was one that needed a bit of decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

We take on board your comment about the decor in the room and we are currently in the process of redecorating all of our rooms, with only a few left to go.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Timeout deal for £69. It was a pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, clean and a decent size. The little kettle, tea and biscuits in the room were handy. I prefer herbal tea and was promptly given some teabags when asked. The staff kindly supplied some in the room for the second night without us asking which was a nice touch. On the first night we ate at the lodge, the food was delicious and well cooked. For breakfast I had the cinnamon and banana oats and couple slices of toast while my partner had the full English and we both thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. The hotel is placed close to Cheddar to visit the caves and placed roughly equal distance from both Bristol and Bath, we visited all three with the hotel as our base. What really made our stay was the warmth and friendliness of the staff, so if we are ever in the area again we would stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

I'm so glad to hear that the staff were so helpful. I will pass all of your lovely comments on to them as it will mean a lot for them to hear when all their hard work is really appreciated.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a family bithday party sunday lunch a while ago and decided that when we were visiting relatives in the area again we would look at staying at the hotel. Looked up their website where we came upon an offer we could not refuse. Telephone straight away and booked a two night stay and what was remarkable was the lady greeted me as if it was only a few weeks ago that we had lunch there and remembered my name. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted warmly and directed to our room . The room was at the back of the hotel unfortunately without a view across the valley, however it was very clean and comfortable. We went down for our dinner, which was included in our rate. The meal was an absolute delight, the venison we ordered was cooked to perfection the cheese board was out of this world. We have had many a cheese board in other hotels and they could very well learn about what a cheese board should consist of and its presentation. We sent our compliments to the chef and we do indeed look forward to having the great pleasure of eating there again.
Going down for breakfast the next morning i wondered how we would fare after such an excellent dinner. No need to have worried because my full english breakfast was well presented , very tasty, the fried eggs we cooked to perfection. My wife had smoked haddock and poached eggs which she thoroughly enjoyed and the eggs again were beautifully cooked.
The service at all times was very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome and indeed we were very well looked after.
The only reason i did not rate the hotel as excellent was because of the shower which was run off the bath taps with no temperature control whatsoever and consequently was met with either exceedingly hot or freezing cold water poured over me. As i am unable to take a bath this was an issue. Having said that there were one or two problems with the lighting in our room and this was promptly dealt with.
We will definitely be dining here again and with the chef they have got at the hotel I would go out of my way to eat here and recommend others to do so.
We will definitely be staying here again and look forward to meeting everybody again and hope that the issue of the shower can be addressed by then, if not, the warm welcome is well worth comong to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

I can assure you that we have now addressed the issue that you have with the shower and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently returned from a two night KGB deal stay at lyncombe lodge. We booked an extra night on top to get the most of our much needed break away. Our deal included a 3 course meal which was excellent and my husband and I were amazed that this little gem was seemingly unknown to the locals, and they really are missing something special. I had mushroom starter followed by steak, which was advertised as being served with a peppercorn sauce, I asked if this could be changed and without hesitation I had my favourite stilton sauce. To finish a truly scrumptious chocolate ganache tart. My husband had a seafood starter followed by venison steak and a more than ample cheese board! The food was top quality and the full english breakfast backed this up! The first night we decided upon a bar meal rather than the a la carte menu which was a very high standard too. We told the staff to advertise more to the public and locals as the ambience in the bar area was a little flat, and a bit of life and soul would do the place a world of good,. The staff themselves were helpful and friendly and I really couldnt fault the hospitality we received from all of them. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and little touchs made the stay comfortable, like a home from home. I would particularly like to mention Ann , who ran the bar and reception on the 2 nights we ate at the hotel, she was friendly and a great asset to the hotel. Thanks Ann! The surroundings of the hotel were great, almost like you were in a chalet in the austrian alps....A dry ski slope was right next door and the feel of the hotel up in the trees was very cosy. It would appeal to both the adventurous outdoor type or equally for a romantic weekend away. In saying this I'm sure a family stay would be just as pleasant....the only negative about the location is the fact it is tucked away and unless you look hard you could easily miss the sign. We were in room 1 of the hotel. It had a fantastic view once the mist had cleared and were told the best view in the hotel. We were advised that the hotel was 3/4 way through a complete refurb and unfortunatley our room was one of the rooms that was not freshly decorated. However this didnt detract from the comfort of the room and the cleanliness, which was to a very high standard. All rooms were well appointed with flat screen tvs and ipod docking stations. Tea and coffee and also biscuits and bottled water daily added a nice touch. The only negative was the shower which didnt have much power behind it but am sure this will be addressed at some point in the near future. In conclusion I would recommend this lovely hotel/lodge/restaurant if not for a stay just to go and have a top notch meal. Locals you are missing out!!!!! There are outdoor chalet accomodation which looked lovely and cosy and is suitable for people with dogs, so they really have got every base covered.Thanks Lyncombe lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

Its really good to hear such wonderful comments about our restaurant and staff and I will pass this on to all involved. Its great to have good feedback and it makes all the hard effort that they put in worthwhile.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lyncombe Drive | Churchill, Churchill BS25 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyncombe Hotel Churchill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.