We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shaven Crown Hotel

The Shaven Crown Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Shaven Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Shaven Crown Hotel
High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Farnham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one evening in December. Two of us plus our 2 dogs. It was lovely. The dogs couldn't have been made more welcome. The decor and ambience were just gorgeous. We had the best roast beef lunch ever eaten in a pub- scrummy and much recommended.
We stayed in the Pump Room- a tastefully decorated room with a massive comfy bed.
Breakfast was superb too....
Helpful friendly staff. No complaints at all/ we plan to return annually.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just went for dinner - warm welcome, great service and very tasty food. Only criticism is that the portion was rather meagre. We ate slowly but it was all gone in about four minutes! We left still feeling hungry.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took two friends to this recently refurbished hotel's restaurant The restaurant is very tastefully furnished and although modern is in keeping with the age of the hotel. But the food is not ancient! The service was good although as we did not want a first course the wait for the main was a little lengthy, but we were warned! The food was beautifully presented and all the party enjoyed it (lamb shank, sea bass and sea trout). The cheese board, although seemingly small portions was nevertheless terrific in its selection of uncommon cheeses wit chutney, etc. All in all an excellent meal, with very attentive, friendly service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in November and we had a very pleasant time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is very old and historical which was of great interest to myself. Our room was immaculate but it took a while to get hot water to the bathroom after we asked due to the hot water being on a timer. The local ale served at the bar is very good and the restaurant food was also very good. Comfortable bed and our breakfast was very satisfying with a good selection of cereals and cooked food available. Would certainly recommend to all.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed in the Pump Room for 3 nights over the 1st weekend in November and did not want to leave. A beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable and spacious room with original stained glass windows and wooden ceiling beams. Breakfast (included) was also excellent and although not cheap, we felt the room was worth every penny and great value compared to others in a similar price range. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel and restaurant have an up-market feel but were also child-friendly. We also had dinner in the restaurant and found the food and service first-class. The historic building has been renovated to a very high standard. The stunning main hall, complete with a log fire is a great place to relax with a drink and the bar and reading area are also wonderful. The hotel is situated in a lovely village within comfortable driving distance of many of the Cotswold's most scenic locations. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real treasure. Nestled in a beautifully quaint village and breathtaking the minute you enter the courtyard.
The hotel is sympathetically and immaculately restored to preserve all the original features. We stayed in the Pump Room which had the original stained glass windows to the side. Comfy beds and all the facilities you need.
The owners are superb, welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast gets 5 stars too.
We urge everyone to try this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed here for a night, dinner and breakfast on 29th Oct, friendly welcome, beautifully refurbished,exceptional attention to detail. Our room was excellent, very very comfortable bed, bath robes and slippers provided,bathroom very modern, chunky stylish decor. Enjoyed both dinner and breakfast,owners helpful and attentive. In the dark when we arrived difficult to locate entrance to car park, between two white cottages, ample parking once found! REALLY encourage you to visit and support the new owners in this venture, they have worked hard and made a brilliant job of renovating the place, they deserve every success and we wish them well.

Room Tip: we had a standard double towards back of hotel --excellent size with armchair ,lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shaven Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shaven Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaven Crown Hotel, which is situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, re-opened September 2014 after extensive refurbishment. The Hotel is one of the oldest inns in England and oozes character and atmosphere as well as lashings of Cotswolds charm. You will usually find a roaring log fire to welcome you in the Grand Hall and can guarantee an equally warm welcome from the staff. We have a an excellent restaurant, serving the highest quality locally sourced produce, a bar, which is open all day, and eight beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Shaven Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaven Crown Hotel
Hotel Shaven Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shaven Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.