We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb Inn

Save Saved
You added The Lamb Inn to your Saves list
The Lamb Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lamb Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simons Lane, High Street | Near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visted the Lamb for the weekend along with our dog and we had a lovely stay. What more could you want than a cute inn with a log fire whilst enjoying gorgeous homemade food and a great selection of wines.
We had read that the odd person made comment on the noise whilst in the bedrooms, but whilst the floorboards may be thin this is what happens when the pub is an old country inn Full of character. A great spot for visiting local historic towns and dog walking!
We will be back! Thank you a wonderful stay in this charming country inn!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
17
84
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited on a snowy Saturday to stay over and dine. This is a high grade country inn - the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated - lots of additional heaters for cold winter night. Bathrooms not city chic but well appointed with lots of hot water. Rooms are not inexpensive but are a fair price. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Food was excellent with good range of real ales and a well priced wine menu with excellent wines.

We have been to The Lamb once before and on both occasions were delighted. We will go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bad food but absolute arrogance about how good they are. They do not accept criticism at all. So many problems with meals over the course of a weekend. Do not go there. Overpriced and really not worth their "cosy" reputation. Tiny rooms and steep stairwells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Walked in and asked if they had a table and do they allow dogs, the said yes and then moved some people who were just drinking so we could sit and eat.
Staff were fab kept coming over to check if we needed anything, had prawns then fish and chips then ice cream.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you to the Lamb for a great stay, The Lamb was closed on Xmas day but opens its doors for local families who need extra bedrooms, this enabled us to enjoy a lovely Christmas with our family in Shipton. We received a warm welcome from Paul when we checked in, he explained where everything was and how to gain access while the inn was closed. We ate in the very festive atmosphere on Christmas Eve, the food was excellent and the staff looked after us very well. A continental breakfast was set up for all the guests on Xmas morning, with full service resuming on Boxing Day with an excellent English breakfast. We will certainly return this is a lovely Cotswold Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We were really disappointed with our stay at The Lamb Inn. The positives are that the staff were pleasant and polite and the breakfasts were of a good standard. The porridge was delicious. However we were not happy with our room at all. We stayed in The Leopard Hills Room. It was extremely cold outside and so was the room. We were very pleased to find an electric radiator in the wardrobe. The bathroom however was only heated by a small towel rail and therefore remained extremely cold throughout our stay. In our opinion the room needed a good clean. You didn't need to run your finger along the top of the radiator to see that it was thick with dust, as were the mirror and the top of the four poster bed. The hospitality tray was adequate but there weren't any biscuits. We stayed for two nights and the room was not serviced at all during our stay. We personally would not recommend The Lamb Inn.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Granted the booking and check in were quick and easy and given that it was over the xmas days, it had been pointed out that there would be no service on xmas day and no meals etc would be obtainable. This was no crisis as the reason for being out this way was to share the holidays with friends at their weekend house- and as there were several of us coming down, accom elsewhere was needed only. The room was okay, albeit super noisy and no doubt exacerbated by xmas eve drinking into early hours. But the bed was unbearable, the mattress and I use that term loosely is in dire need of replacing. I resorted to using any covers I could find, towels and pillows to try to pad out one area to try sleeping on. So bad after two nights, I have ridiculous back ache which I never have had and to all intents will need some physio. Have subsequently taken handfuls of muscle relaxants as it is.

I travel a considerable amount for work, internationally, so have a high tolerance for some odd hospitality practices, but where this place floors me is the practise of changing over the room before you have even checked out....and doing that as I had left for a quick walk up the road to get car keys from my brother, so that I could check out well ontime and place my things in the car. Returned to the room, which was still in my supposed time, to find stuff moved to one side and the changeover well underway. Whomever it was at the front desk at the point of checkout was only eager to take the credit card and buffed off my comments of the seemingly odd practise of being turfed out of the room and feeling as if the cleaners or indeed management had decided it was now my time to go. Her pouted 'sorry' and dismissive comment as to being 'busy now' really riled me more than the bad bed, hence this review. Not a place I will ever return to, nor recommend and is the dampner on the past couple of days. Paid just under 200 pounds for 2 nights of little to no sleep, no service, bad bed and was thrown out before checkout.....not a great cost benefit ratio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Simons Lane, High Street | Near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.