We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtlands B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipton under Wychwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtlands B&B
Save
You added Courtlands B&B to your Saves list
6 Courtlands Road, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Angmering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Accommodation was very comfortable with full English breakfast with plenty of choice for cereals and fruit juices. The hot breakfast was custom-made to our requirements and very good. We had a warm welcome with tea/coffee and home-made cake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Courtlands B&B, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Writing a review of "Courtlands" is difficult because just about everything good about this outstanding Bed and Breakfast and it,s hosts Jean and John has already been said.
Jean and John are the most Generous Hosts you could possibly wish for.
They go out of their way to help with advice about the area,very much enjoy a good old chat about anything and you get a welcome with a Wonderful pot of tea and good old home made cake whenever you return in the early evening from a day out.
The Accommodation at "Courtlands is exceptional in being very clean,spacious and comfortable.
We stayed for two Nights in a double en-suite,which was very well furnished that was more than we had expected.
We will be returning to "courtlands"soon,providing that they are not fully booked up.
Thank you Jean and John for making a lovely break for us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Courtlands B&B, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing and having another good old chat soon. It was wonderful to receive your thank you card, very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I have been staying with Jean & John for at least 5 years and don't think we have ever left any review. A sin considering how great it all is. Trouble is you may want to stay at the same time as us.

Courtlands standards have not faltered even a smidgen since we started staying. It is like staying with friends or relatives,who do everything for you. On arrival we are always offered tea or coffee and some of Jeans home made cake in the conservatory, overlooking their lovely garden. Rooms are really comfy, spacious and clean, as is the whole house.Our room has a lovely large en-suite shower room with toiletries, tea / coffee making facilities, biscuits and lovely china. Plus of course a TV. Between them Jean and John are a mind of local information and if they do not know, will look on the web and find out for you.

Breakfast is definitely worth getting out of bed for, lots (about 6) of various cereals plus a freshly made fruit salad every morning with Greek yoghurt ..really great. Then comes the cooked part of breakfast (my favourite) always great. As much tea /coffee as we can drink and mixed toast as much as we want and oh yes, Jeans home made marmalade and preserves / jams, my wife's favourite is the whisky marmalade. Everything being served on immaculate china.

You get a front door key and come and go as you please. It really doesn't come any better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Courtlands B&B, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to see you both, looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We found Courtlands B&B very good. Clean, neat and tidy--we were encouaged to use the garden whenever we wanted. The breakfast was a treat, the homemade marmalade was very good.
John and Jean went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They helped us to find places via the internet and drew maps for us. They could not have been more helpful. I would reccommend Courtlands to anyone. The next time we visit the Cotswolds, we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for take the time to write a review about Courtlands B&B it is very much appreiciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Courtlands was totally outstanding accommodation. The warm welcome we received from jean and john with homemade cake and tea was so comforting. The full English breakfast was superb and Jean made sure she went the extra mile with homemade jam and marmalade. The room we stayed in was a double with en-suite and i can reassure any ladies that you would not feel disappointed with the luxurious towel's, bedding, toilitries and general space. Fantastic, will definately recommend and go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you Claire for taking the time to review Courtlands B&B, it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very unhappy with with overall experience as price (£80) did not reflect the low quality of accomodation. No concessions given if we opted out of breakfast. Very musty smell in entire house.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Courtlands is one of the best B&B we've ever stayed at. It was like home from home, extremely comfortable and well-appointed. The welcome we received from Jean and John was really appreciated, after our long drive, especially the (unexpected) tea and cakes on our arrival. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast, especially the home-made jams and marmalade.
You won't find a better B&B !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtlands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtlands B&B

Address: 6 Courtlands Road, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtlands B&B is located on the edge of the Cotswolds in a quiet village only a few miles from Burford, in easy reach of Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Cotswolds villages, National trust properties and gardens. Jean and John have created a combination of ease, comfort and well-known hospitality. Breakfast is sourced locally, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, homemade preserves and a good English breakfast, any diets catered for. Afternoon tea in the garden or conservatory. 3 local pubs in walking distance. All bedrooms have hostess trays, colour TV an internet access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtlands B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.