We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wholesome and delicious healthy food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopleys

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hopleys
High Street | Much Hadham, Bishops Stortford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Herts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good wholesome and delicious healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visited with friends for afternoon tea whilst viewing the gardens and although not hugely comfortable there was an array of healthy dishes as well as naughty cakes!Good value for money and a lovely afternoon tea( others were eating scrumptious lunches at 3pm)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I don't do tea shops but this was very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went with group of walkers for tea and cake. A large group of us arrived (by appointment) and were quickly served. Cake selection was impressive and mine was very nice, my only complaint was that some of the others got bigger servings!
Very pleasant staff, good food and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sunday tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a lovely independent garden centre selling different pants from the ordinary chains.They provide excellent advice on bee and insect friendly plants.

The tea room is a delight providing organic tea, and home made delicious cakes. M had pear, hazlenut and chocolate cake. A delight!

They are a large garden area which is open to all to walk around.

A great place to spend a few hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“...And the chance to buy lovely plants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had coffee and cakes while hunting for plants for the garden. The coffee and cakes were as good as you can get and the selection of plants at Hopleys was excellent. We also loved the chance to walk round their garden. We will be bringing the family next time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really pleased this place has opened”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This isn't a grand restaurant or anything, more a cosy casual chilled place to have an informal bite. Made in a large cabin, various home made tasty dishes. Whilst the food isn't the best we've eaten, it's none the less very pleasant, and the atmosphere is great. There are large gardens for the children to run around and you can look at and buy craft and other items there in the restaurant.

People say the roasts are good, although we have not tried those yet.

Lots of luscious home made cakes and puds to keep you happy.

SERVICE - could be a bit better but I think this is down to the design of the till space, where all the staff have to cram through behind the till to get to the restaurant so it gets a bit hectic sometimes. Took quite a while to queue and pay, so order the bill early I guess and choose a quiet moment to pay.

A great little place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopleys also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hopleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.