We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill 55 - CLOSED

Grill 55
55 South Street, Bishops Stortford CM23 3AL, England
01279 50 50 10
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Inspired by the informal style of New York's grill restaurants.We offer a range of different cuts of premium steaks and fresh fish cooked on our charcoal grill.LUNCH AND DINNER
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fish was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited Grill55 with my wife for a birthday meal. We both opted for the fish and were not disappointed. The food was first class. The restaurant is tastefully decorated and very well designed. We were greeted by lovely friendly staff who looked after us throughout. Recommended for good service and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Owner at Grill 55, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Grill 55 and your positive comments.

As a small independent restaurant it is always good to know that our diners appreciate what we do just as we greatly value the local support that we have.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Jamie Christopoulos
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    49
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have never written a review in my life, but felt this restaurant deserved it. I went to Grill for the first time last night, with my husband, daughter and my husbands colleague. When we go out to eat we normally go to an Indian or Thai, as my husband is a great cook so we normally eat at home, however we will go out to eat more often now we have found this restaurant. Infact we have already booked again for my husbands birthday on the 01st Feb,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Owner at Grill 55, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for Grill 55

We are so glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed the food and service. As a small
family restaurant it is great for us to know our diners appreciate what we do just as much as we
value your support.

Look forward to seeing you on the 1st February, its going to be a fantastic night.

Kind regards

Jamie Christopoulos
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Major facelift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having lived in the area in the past the restaurant scene is pretty familiar. For a good steak you had to travel to London, other restaurants (like New York Gril&Bar @Radisson Stansted) in the vicinity offer limited choice in their menus and usually a disappointment with regard to cost/satisfaction ratio. Not this time.

Located in the premises once occupied by The Olive Tree (yes, having dined there often on their then Mediterranean menu) it appears the same management has decided to establish a serious steak house instead. Looking forward to having a decent casual meal out we wanted to check this place out whether it really lives up to its new reputation. On arrival we we greeted by a junior waitress who was probably new to her job and a bit lost on service. She took, however, our order and surprisingly got it right although I had some reservations at the time. On a Tuesday night, the restaurant was half full, so the service was quick and polite. The wine and later the food came in well presented by another, very attentive and knowledgable person, who kindly explained the concept of dining, the origin of the wine and meat to our satisfaction. Thank you Sandra for your service!

As we were really looking forward to having their signatory dish, the Chateaubriand, we decided to be easy on the starters. The marinated olives together with one share calamari was more than enough to elevate our apetites. Both of these dishes were well prepared, presented and top quality. Once the huge plate of the main dish came to the table we were eager to bite! The quality of this Aberdeen Angus beef was excellent and cooked perfect to the requested medium-rare (I am sure they they had prepared it sous-vide, otherwise such a big chunk of meat would not have been so evenly cooked without losing any of its moisture). The sides, chips, grilled tomatoes and green beans were all great and prepared exactly as they should be. 800 grams of meat is a lot to swallow but we managed well as the peppercorn sauce complemented the plain taste just perfect. The meal was finished with just espressos as there was no more room for a desert, though the list looked tempting.

So the verdict: If you are a meat eater, there is no need to travel further. This restaurant would rank high in any city in the world. If you come from US, Argentina or Australia, the meat has a bit more structure to bite than what you are used to but on European standards it is top notch. On the price, the £100 bill for two, including the wine was reasonable for such a meal, you'd expect to pay somewhat more if you were in London for a similar meal. The dining room is intimate and not flashy by any means so you'll have the opportunity to focus on your company and the food you are enjoying. Thus a great choice also if you want to impress your date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Owner at Grill 55, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review on Grill 55.

As a small independent business we really appreciate the fantastic support we have from
local diners and are encouraged to hear that you enjoyed both the quality of our food and
service.

We do hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards

Jamie Christopoulos
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal at Grill 55 !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Four girls allowed out of Hockerill for the night with big appetites and a birthday to celebrate !!
Great food at the right price and friendly efficient service as always.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best steak I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Another amazing steak from Jamie's team, I had a rib eye med-rare, absolutely perfect in every detail. succulent, tender and really very large. I really cannot imagine where you would go to get food of this quality at these prices.
Compliment this with great friendly and attentive service and it really makes for a superb dinner experience.
I understand the restaurant has recently celebrated it second successful year and this can only continue. I will be returning very soon for sunday lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 55 also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill 55, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.