We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service - but book before you go!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
01279 710 991
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Superb Service - but book before you go!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We thought we would visit the Coach and Horses in Thorley on the evening Saturday 2nd March on account of my family visiting from Middlesbrough.
The pub was packed to the rafters with diners and we struggled to find seats around the bar area. Staff were running back and forth to keep up with the number of customers they had! The manager said the best she could do is offer us a table for food just before 9 (we got there for around 7.15). We decided to stick around as the venue was very busy so the food must have been quite something.
The manager did manage to seat us all and I was most impressed with both the service, quality of food and the prices.
Staff often visited the table to check everything was ok or to see if we needed any more drinks.
They were very child friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good evening.
I would highly recommend, but just ensure you book a table before going on a weekend evening.
We will definitely be re-visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    28
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just what bishops stortford needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hi guys just wanting to let you all know we (6) had a fantastic meal and service on sunday, the pub was packed and we went later in the day to advoid all the rush but they must be busy all the time. service was good and the food was tasty and pipping hot, thanks to all the staff who made our visit enjoyable and my other half said the veggie meal was tasty too which she said she finds hard when eating out. Oh yeah and my son said thankyou for giveing him the advise on what he can eat (nut allergy) .
And im glad you had spaces left for mothers day see you then if not before. xx thanks again to all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, fantastic food and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having eaten at The Coach and Horses only lunch times mid week since Dave & Natalie took over last year we decided to try a meal on a busy Saturday lunch time and i must say that they and their staff managed very well.
What was even more impressive was that they had a large group of people celebrating a birthday, coupled with an almost full pub of other diners and yet the service and standard of food was just as good as when they are quieter.
We both started with the thick minted pea soup and then my wife had the cajun chicken burger, chips and salad whilst i had the beef and ale pie with mashed potatoes, carrots and mange tout (as i'm not a fan of brassicas) and all of which were superb.
Whilst eating we were asked several times if everything was alright and whether we needed anything else despite the managers and staff being very busy.
All of the above went down so well with a lovely bottle of house red wine and we were so full that we didn't have our tea until much later that evening.
This really is the best pub restaurant in Bishop's Stortford and would recommend it to anyone for great fresh cooked food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must for sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We're a Roast on Sunday family but sometimes I just can't be bothered to cook it myself. The Coach and Horses provides you with home cooked style roast without the bother. When I say Home Cooked Style, that is exactly what it is. Home made Yorkshire Pudds, Cauliflour cheese, Roaties and proper roast meats. Not the cheaper pre-sliced options that some places serve up. Also the Coach & Horses do lots of other themed events well is good, Pie weeks, Mothers day, pancake day menus. Staff are attentive and we've always been asked if everything is to order but what we presume are the owners/managers which is a nice touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

All the staff were very welcoming and food was delicious. It wasn't overly busy but we were made a fuss of by the staff which made us feel even more welcome. The food choices on the main menu is limited but they offer a wide range of specials that my friends and myself chose from. The Coach and horses is by far the best pub restaurant to go to in bishops stortford. We shall defiantly be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.