We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland indian” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chutney Joe

Chutney Joe
24 Hadham Road, Bishops Stortford, England
01279 50 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bishops Stortford
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Bland indian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We eat here once and would never go back. The tables were too small for the dishes, the waiters just wanted to turn the tables and the food when it came was bland and distinctly average. It is simply not an authentic indian experience.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    6
    4
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice curry, with a side helping of FOOD POISONING!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My partner and I went for an Indian at Chutney Joe's on Saturday, it cost us £60 for a small, average meal for two, and for the past three days I haven't managed to keep any food or drink in, I have lost 9lbs in weight and I am bed ridden with food poisoning. We had have lovely meals there in the past, but it's safe to say we'll be staying away in future!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I was very pleased with my first visit to Chutney Joe's and look forward to the second. The menu had a different look than the usual and tended to focus on dishes from the north west.

I think it's a bit off to penalise the place for not doing a specific dish. "Indian" food is very diverse - not surprising when you consider the the scale of the continent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & great experiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Always enjoy Chutney Joe. Great service and fab food! Lovely atmosphere! I think the reviewer down below has the hump cos the Chef wouldn't change the menu for her! lol

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I have been to all the indian restaurants in Bishop's Stortford and this is by far the best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Joe also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chutney Joe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutney Joe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.